Negative Skills Assessment - General Accountant

Kooskrokodil

Good news and bad news.

:ilikeit:I have an interview scheduled for Thursday morning for a job with a 457 sponsorship.

:thumbdown:My skills assessment came back negative. I have 11 out of 12 Core knowledge areas, but not the one mandatory “Accounting Theory, Professional and regulatory processes”. The ICAA assessed my RAU (1993-1995) :grads:(Rand Afrikaans University accounting)degree based on a 32 page academic record submitted to them. I fail to understand how this specific area was not covered enough during three years of study with accounting as the main subject.

Anyone else have a 3 years accounting degree from RAU with a positive assessment?

And no, I am not giving up yet.

Thanks

I have a RAU degree and my assessment came back positive

Could you not request that they check your paperwork again or alternatively have your skills assessed by CPA Australia?

Edited by Brad76

Unfortunately you are going to have to phone Australia and speak to the person who assessed your file. They must tell you exactly why they assessed your file the way they did. You are entitled to that.

I feel for you. My assessement was also negative and a reassessment has just set me back a further R6,000!

I had my skills assessed by ipa australia and it came back positive. I had my degree at rau in 2004. I then applied dor skilled employment but ipa said. They don't recognise my employment. I then decided to apply for skills assessment through cpa australia and it came back negative. I then sent them syllabus details of my honours degree which I obtained through unisa and the asessment came back positive. Initially cpa said that I don't have accoyunting thery and procesess but after I sent them my honours details it came back positive.

Kooskrokodil, die accounting bodies hier is maar 'n nagmerrie.