Hello!

Niel

Hi All,

My wife and I are keen to make “the move” to OZ. The problem is that I cannot find any recruitment agency willing to help me find a job. I have a Masters Degree in Electronic Engineering and 2+ years of professional working experience in a high tech environment. I thought that since Australia has a shortage of engineers the task of finding a job would not be that difficult.

I really need some help on this one. Should I apply for a skilled working visa first before trying to find a job? What would be the best way to handle this?

Thanks

Niel

There are many ways to solve this one.

Apply for your visa and while in the process do your own "marketing" by searching the web for companies that might need your skills and sending them your CV and selling yourself. Also search the Seek and Careerone sites and apply for any and every job you might be qualified for. Don't give up it might take quite a while but the right one will come along.

Good luck

N

PS: CV's are written a bit differnt in Aussie so I suggest you contact an Australian employment agent to help you set your up for Aus.

Try and PM customeyes, she might be able to help.if I recall correctly, she does recruitment.

Good luck on the best journey in your life!

Carelene

Hi,

Remember that recruitment agencies earn their fees by placing candidates in jobs - and the faster, the better. They want candidates that can attend interviews within 48 hours and start a new job after serving a months notice. International candidates are just not that attractive.