Shane: Moving to Adelaide

shane

Hi all

I am busy applying for a SIR visa 495 and I have already received sponsership from South Australia (should receive my visa in 4 to 6 months)

I am an aircraft technician (instruments) and I would like to know if there is anyone out there who knows of any jobs in Adelaide.

What I also would like to know is your opinions? Should I just go over with my whole family after receiving my visa or should I go job searching alone.

Can you guys give me some tips, about on what I should do beforehand and after my family and I land.

Thanx

Hi Shane

Firstly, good luck with your application, may all go smoothly.

For jobs, check out www.seek.com.au and www.mycareer.com.au

Beforehand, make sure you have a letter from your comprehensive insurance stating what category you are - it can solve a lot of problems for you here when taking out car/householders insurance.

If you can get hold of a reference with regard to renting a house, character reference, etc., that will make it easier for you to rent a place in Adelaide, the agents like to have a reference when you apply.

Queensize and Kingsize beds are six inches longer in Australia. So, if you are bringing beds in these sizes, make sure you have enough fitted sheets to last the lifetime of the bed, as the Aussie fitted sheets will be too long for the bed.

With regard to the question should you come alone or just come with your whole family - that is not a question I would like to venture an answer to! I presume it would depend on your finances.

Once again, good luck, may everything just fall into place!

Welcome Shane! Hope you find this site very useful.

I am sure that Marius wil answer any questions regarding Adelaide for you as he is living there and quite enjoying it I believe. So if you need any advice you can also PM him.

Hallo mense

How are you all doing ?

Is there anyone that is going or went over on a SIR 495 visa?