Worked in Sydney a month now

LiezelM

Well then, this was something everyone wanted to know :)

Ok, I'm an Account manager within the FMCG market research industry. What does that mean? Well, I look at store data and analyse it and keep clients happy :whome:

Colleagues:

I am a very lucky woman!! The Ozzies there are SO nice, and very helpful! Since day 1, they have tried everything to make me feel comfortable, and am very interested why we left SA. I even made a friend :) A REAL one! I can't wait to get a house so we can invite them for dinner. Her hubby is also in IT like mine, and sounds like they're very similar.

Work Culture:

MUCH more relaxed than in Jhb! People get to the office at 9am, most of them take an hour lunch break most of the time, and leave at 17h00. Very rarely have I heard them working overtime. This for me is GREAT!!! As I used to work easy 17 hours a day in Jhb :blink: This takes some getting used to if you're used to Jhb's pace - but I'm not complaining! For the 1st time, I get home after work, and still have energy to do stuff I want to do, and not just flop on the couch or on the bed, and sleep at 21h00 already!

It's very sociable, and everyone laughs, chats, has team building pub crawling sessions - don't ask :blush:

They share jokes, and everyone is who they are, no pretences :blush: I LOVE that!

No bureaucracy there at all.

Training - I received 3 weeks' training.

Work Environment:

Well, the offices aren't great! Unfortunately. They've expanded quickly, and can only get new offices next year. It's very open plan!!! NO privacy! I used to have my own office, so yes, this is challenging for me, and some people are a bit irritating, but it's something I have to get used to.

Parking is fine, but it does seem to be a problem all round Sydney city.