MOVING FROM CAPE TOWN TO MELBOURNE

ALANVR

Hello everyone

I joined this forum a couple of weeks ago pending a job application.

My job offer has now come through so now it's down to sorting out all the detail.

As background I am a professional quantity surveyor, married with two adult / non-dependent children.  My wife and I are both 53 so missed out on the 45 year cut off. I have secured a  fixed term position on a TSS482 4-year medium term visa paying above the threshold.  After 3 years we can apply for PR provided I'm with the same employer and still earning above threshold.  My employer is covering the move (except for pets) and visa for my wife and I so thats one less thing to worry about (except for the pets which cost a fortune to move over).

My wife is not currently employed but will have full working rights on the back of my visa should she wish to do some work.

My elder son is 35 and does not have a tertiary qualification. He owns a retail business here and is in the process of selling.  In the short term he can visit for up to 12 months out of every 18 months.

My younger son is 25 and completing his final year bcomm this year and can then come over on a working holiday visa renewable up to 3 years.

In the short term we seem to be ok.  The crunch is going to be to somehow help our son's also achieve PR during this period.

We are working towards moving across mid Feb with me starting the job on 1st March.

Our pets can only leave SA at the end of May so we have some time to find a suitable house to rent.  In the interim we are looking at staying in an apartment while we wait for our container and pets.

We have many questions so that will follow as we progress.

Regards

Hi Alan

Nice to meet you.  Pity about the age cu off.  We just made it!

You would like Melbourne, people say it is a lot like Cape Town.