Any help?????

Abigail

Question

Hi my name is Abigail and I am a qualified Chef I have about 7 years of experience in this industry and would love to go over to Australia. I have just started this process so I don't know where to even start or who to contact. Any help would be amazing.

Thank you

Chef Abi

5 answers to this question

Hi Abigail, 

Welcome to the forum!  It's all very daunting, but many of us were exactly where you are today and we all made it! 😊

Begin by getting all your personal documents sorted; passport, unabridged birth certificates, marriage certificates etc.  

Check if your skill is listed here: 

https://www.homeaffairs.gov.au/trav/work/work/skills-assessment-and-assessing-authorities/skilled-occupations-lists

Some agents will do a free points assessment to see if you will qualify for a skilled migration.  Make sure your agent is registered here:

https://www.mara.gov.au/

If anyone asks for upfront payment and guarantees you a visa or a job, RUN! 

We have a few longstanding registered migration agents on the forum who offer basic advise for free or may be able to answer a specific question in relation to your visa options.  If you would like to engage their services at a later point, they will provide you with a proper quote.  @SD_MOAand @TeeTMIare both registered agents and regular contributors on the forum.  There are also other agents recommended by our forum members.  Better to use someone that comes with a referral.  

Start looking for jobs here:

https://www.seek.com.au/chef-jobs

Don't be put off by the requirement that you have to already be able to work in Australia - it is a statement required by law and many companies will sponsor a good candidate.  

Update your CV in Australian format (short, factual and to the point - they don't care that you won a swimming trophy in high school).  There are many threads about this on the forum.