C# / .net Software Developer seeking sponsorhip

johanosventer

Hi,

I'm a South African Software Developer with 6.5 years of .Net (C#) programming experience, of which 3 have been in a leadership role across three different teams.  Having spent the last year in an Architect role, I'm now seeking sponsored employment in and around Melbourne.

Any advice? Networking tips?  Backdoors into the hidden job market?

Regards

Stefanus Johannes Venter CV 2018.pdf

Welcome to the forum @johanosventer,

I would like to recommend that you rather look into the 189 permanent residency visa route.  Sponsored visas are becoming harder and harder to find and if you think about it, why would a company sponsor a visa if there is already a perfectly good pool of local and permanent resident software developers available.  To get sponsored you would have to offer something that is in short supply locally.  I'm not saying its impossible to get sponsorship, but rather go for the sure thing and get permanent residency sorted.

Australia is very different from South Africa in terms of employment.  I personally used to send my CV to one recruiter and sit back whilst they got some interviews lined up.  Here..... you will have to work for it.  You need to contact companies directly, get your LinkedIn sorted and subscribe to LinkedIn Premium.  Because you are looking to be sponsored you would likely have to apply to companies who run specific programs to sponsor visas.  I was very lucky to find work within a week of starting the process, some of my colleagues took up to 6 months to find their first jobs in Australia due to their lack of local experience.

All the best, fire away if you have any more questions.

• Like 1

6 hours ago, ChrisH said:

Welcome to the forum @johanosventer,