This one is for all the ICT/IT Guys

RaynardXO

Good everyone :)

I just have a question for all the ICT guys.. If any of you have a job within the field what are your qualifications and experience? On what type of Visa are you on and how is the IT job recruitment in Australia? (Meaning what are employers looking for in a candidate? do they focus on experience more or qualification?)

I'd appreciate if you guys would give me your feedback it would mean a lot.

I work as a .net developer.  I have a B.Sc Computer science degree and topped it up with an Honours in Computer science, both acquired from UJ.  We got in on a 189 visa.

Recruitment is where it gets tough, and this applies to any occupation.... In South Africa we 're used to sending our CV's in any format to a recruitment agent, they usually rewrite the CV into their own template and then line up interviews for you whilst you sit next to the pool with a beer in your hand.

Here..... Nobody spoon feeds you!  There are some employment agencies out there, but nobody I've met has actually used them.  Your biggest ally in this process will be LinkedIn Premium (you get a month free) and https://www.seek.com.au/.  

In terms of qualification vs experience, it's hard for me to judge because I already have both but I will say this, most Aussie companies don't even look at your CV if you don't have some sort of local experience.  The reason is that too many people apply for jobs from outside of Australia (they will list themselves as being local) expecting to get a sponsored visa, the only real metric they can depend on is some local experience.  I was very very lucky in that sense because I applied directly for my current position on LinkedIn. 

My wife on the other hand didn't even get a callback and after 2 months I managed to get her CV looked at by the client I was working for at the time.  

Feel free to ask more questions if you have any.

• Like 1