Value of UNISA degree

alicat202

Hi fellow Saffers! :) 

I would like to hear from people who successfully had their UNISA degree accepted / certified / converted, etc here is Aus. In other words, if you were able to use your UNISA degree to either get a job (without experience) or get credits at an Aussie uni, please could you share your story with me?

I would like to get an idea of the value of a UNISA degree over here from real people and real experiences versus speculation.

I can’t think that switching to an Aussie uni and paying their astronomical fees is that much more valuable than completing my UNISA degree, and then just having it certified here (whether that means doing a bridging course or whatever).

Thank you ;)

• Like 1

I have a Bachelors and Masters Degree with UNISA. Vetassess only used my bachelors degree as it was sufficient for my nominated profession (Environmental Manager). I received a positive assessment. Furthermore I managed to get a good job within six weeks of landing and I am still in the same role nearly two and a halve years later. Once you get the positive skills assessment, Visa  and professional registration (in some cases) employers are not too fussed where you got your degrees from. Just take your original degrees in so that they can see it and make copies for their files. There have been recent cases of people being prosecuted over false qualifications (medical) so I guess some professions may want to check the validity of your qualifications (medical, engineering, finance etc.)

Good luck.

Unfortunately, like anything in this world there is politics involved.

A degree is a degree. You can even get VETASSESS (or another assessing body) to confirm that its the equivalent of an Aussie degree. You will probably do that as part of your VISA process.  

But if you are only 80% of the way to your degree, an Aussie university will make you redo a lot of it.