Our story so far

Corne and Jacqui

Our story

Me & Jacqui decided to make the move to Australia during mid 2003 when we went to Australia to visit her sister. We got engaged at the end of 2003 and decided that we would get married first (19 Sept 2004) and then make the move early in 2005.

Back then I was a programmer and I started the immigration process and had my qualification assessed through ACS and was busy getting the 136 application ready when my folks offered us a business opportunity here in SA that we just couldn’t turn down. The Australian plan fell by the wayside and just before we got married I started the new job.

Things worked out really well for us since then, financially, socially and all our dreams pretty much came true in all aspects I can think of. I remember her sister and her husband coming to SA for a visit and I tried to convince them to move back here. I honestly believed things were getting better here (must’ve been late 2005).

Early 2006 we started noticing an upsurge in crime in our area and in Jhb in general and it got steadily worse towards the end of last year. On the 6th of June last year we had a little baby girl and we started discussing the possibility of giving everything up here and starting the immigration process again.

In January Jacqui was involved in an attempted hijacking at the gate of our house and that was the last straw. We decided to start and submitted Jacqui’s teaching assessment (I don’t qualify anymore since I moved from programming to construction).

Teaching Australia came back to us requesting her to complete IELTS test which she did over the weekend in Botswana so now we’re holding thumbs for a positive outcome so that we can submit our 136 in June.