Away we go

JonathanR

Hey Guys,

My wife and I have decided to embark on this journey to Australia. I am a Database Architect with a strong emphasis on cloud technologies. I will likely focus on the Database Administrator skill which looks to be able to get me close to a 190 visa with Victoria Sponsorship. We are currently shortlisting Agents (I don't have a Degree but plenty experience and trade certifications which are apparently seen as a diploma, but I think this makes it too risky or complex to try on my own, although I could do with the saving) and will be starting the process by the end of this month.

So this is my intro, I am 38 with a wife and two kids (4 and 1) and I desperately want to avoid the South African schooling system so would love to have everything finished by September next year which I believe he would need to start Reception at that point. I would love to push full steam ahead but have some complexities in selling my house (bad builder who despite promising me that the renovations I was doing were fine, I now find out he never got proper building permissions and stuff so I need to sort that out before I can sell) so need to sort that out before I go too far but at least I think we may be a few months from actually getting to the point of needing to start thinking of selling.

So some ways the forum can help out at the moment:

1. Maybe recommending a good, reasonable person that can fix my plans as build, and help me navigate the JHB approval system

2. Anyone who knows building legalities in Midrand, apparently the store room I had build by the builder, and he assured me that it must be a meter from the fence, is too close to the fence since it should be 10 meters away. I need some advice on how to get building lines relaxed or else part of my throwing out routine will be to knock down this structure.

3. Welcomes and "hey have you thought off"s (We are already studying the 100 step process thread.) :-)