Mechanical Engineer looking in Sydney or Newcastle

wallyengles

Hi all,

We've been in Oz for a little under three months now and I'm trying all avenues.

I have two years of HVAC engineering experience but would be willing to fill any role available.

If you hear of anything please drop me a PM.

I've tried Sydney, Newcastle, Brisbane and even Melbourne to an extent. I'd even go as far as Perth.

I'm just trying to get out there in every way possible.

I have a few applications in the air. Some reply within days and others seem to take a good few weeks before anything happens.

I've had it touched up professionally but they didn't do much. I'd researched it fairly extensively and compiled it exactly as they do it anyway.

I'm also attaching short, focussed cover letters that pertain exactly to each job description and requirements.

The limited feedback I've gotten so far was that they'd employed either an internal person, or head hunted directly from the competition. I'm also working through some direct contacts within a company who seem to have a possible position available.

I've had a few phone calls but no solid interview yet.

Everyone I've asked has given a timeline of between three and six months to get a job. The hiring process seems a lot slower here than in SA.

I also get the sense that competition is intense.

That sounds quite tough - I'm really going to have to try and get a job while still in SA. 3-6 Months with 5 mouths to feed is not going to work....

Edited by Atjan
spelling

wally I would definitely get your CV done professionally and not just touched up a bit. It makes a huge difference when your CV sells you to get you in the door. My husband used Roland coombs from itouch professions resumes- recommended by many forumites here. He is not cheap but well worth it in my opinion and if it lands you a job its priceless ? I wish you all the best.

• 3 weeks later...

Hey Odendaal,