Management Accounting positions

EmNew

I am not a CA(SA), but a Professional Accountant (SA), with SAICA articles, and I did work for a big 4 company post articles.

In South Africa, I was basically an outsourced CFO / Financial & Management accountant  / tax advisor via my own business which I ran for 13 years, after having various roles over 10 years between accounting / audit firms and large corporations.

I have been applying for jobs in Melbourne for 3 months, and still have the stumbling block of 'no local experience', even though I specifically avoid any job adverts with tax related duties in the KRA's. This leaves me with management accountant positions, which are ideal for me, as the duties performed are fairly universal, as ratios and financial analysis and reporting is pretty standard, and I have proven experience in this role.

I will be enrolling in the CTA1 tax Foundation course next month just to at least get some academic certification in tax on my CV, but in the meantime I am seeking employment. Does anyone have any inside information regarding positions on offer for management accountants in Melbourne? Please pm me, as I would prefer to apply direct to companies / prospective employers, than via the agents, who just focus on the fact that all my experience was in South Africa and move on to other candidates.

Many thanks for any assistance / information provided.

Em I still think you should just give yourself a career break until you have the tax qualifications.  The thing is that although the jobs you are applying for do not specifically have tax duties, a knowledge of the tax system is vital for a CFO to provide proper advice.