Apparently it is now!

Eyebrow

(((Hugs))) Eyebrow. That must have been horrible. I hope he's feeling a bit better by now.

Ps. I forgot about the curtains thing. We leave the curtains in Aus. I still have all my curtains from 8 years ago, what a pain every time we move. Can't use them...

Why cant you use them?

All the houses already have curtains. You leave your curtains behind when you move ?

You must leave some sort of window covering, so you will either find curtains or blinds in a house. We lived in 5 places, and always found nice blinds left for us. So, we went to Ikea and got curtain rods for $10 each and put them up so we could hang our curtains. We asked permission and always left them for the next folks to use. They never had an issue with that and actually welcomed it. Now that we bought, my mum is coming to cut my curtains to size and hem them, when they come to visit in Dec. My dad will be building a deck. Cheap African labour.......;)

Edited by rozellem
  • Like 4

Leaving tomorrow.

At a braai with all the family now.

Very emotional.

Nothing going as planned.

This part is superbly crap.

Leaving tomorrow.

At a braai with all the family now.

Very emotional.

Nothing going as planned.

This part is superbly crap.

Maybe you should stock up on Birals? My friend calls them mother-in-law pills ;)

Don't get too caught up in the drama. You will likely see your family many more times. It's really not a final goodbye, just a 'see you in a while'.

Well that's how it's been for us xxx

Less than 24 hours now.

For the person who advised denial... Thanks. It is working the best of all the plans.

I am not really going, we are just packing a bit, this is not the last time I will see the house, blah, blah.

OK

It will hit me soon, But just for now I need to cope.

So lets ride the Egyptian river for a while...

I hope Australia will be kind to us.

Sending you hugs, shoulder to cry on, cupboard to hide in ;) to help you get through the next few hours.

i hope beyond hope that Australia is kind to you and eases you into the swing of things slowly.

Good luck, best wishes and sanity!!!!!! for the next part of the journey

Hi everyone

I am in Australia.

Not even sure I should write this post... Not in my most positive frame of mind.

(Newbies stop reading now. Go back and read "successful trip" posts. :closedeyes: )

Anyway. I was so stoked for this trip. Yet it came almost too soon and without warning.

The day before we left, we had this braai with friends and family. Some we hadnt seen in years, and some I havent even seen ever! I sooo didnt want to go, because it would be a tear fest, but we had to for them. And it was bad. Talking about us going and how bad their lives will be and how they'll never see us. Trip too long, too expensive, they too old, not enough money.Speculation about how difficult it would be etc

My head was pounding. It was very upsetting. :cry:

And then my mother just got up and walked out and got in car and left without making eye contact. She couldnt bear to say goodbye.

I felt like I was dying.

We had been sleeping 3-4 hours a night for a week with packing and arranging and having the container and kids not sleeping well ( probably feeling the stress.)

Another night with no sleep.

The next day (day of flight) we got second hand furniture place to come and buy rest of stuff that didnt fit on container. Queen bed set and mattress, pine finish cot, exercise bench, TV and wooden side board. And they gave us R2000 only. Vultures!!! I was so upset. :angry:

Then we packed the suitcases. I had kept it to the bare minimum. We only had 22kg per person. When the suitcases were eventually packed. It was only 15kg per person! I could have kicked myself. We needed more stuff, and I couldve packed more. But because I only got to the suitcases after the container left, we wasted all those precious kgs. I sent hubby to buy more Pampers nappies to take along. Since the are all that fir the kids and I havent actually seen them in OZ (if anyone knows where to buy them, please let me know! ;) )

But that's that. We could not make the container come back...

Then suddenly my teeth didnt fit properly. Ja. I know, weird statement. The background is...In anticipation of expensive dental in Aus, I had new crown fitted a week before, and suddenly the teeth on the other side of the mouth wasnt actually touching! And we were going to airport in 4 hours. I ring dentist in a state!!! And was told I could come in and wait. But not sure how long..

I go and sit in waiting room for 30 min. But he busy with long procedure. And then I couldn't wait any longer. I was going to have to go with teeth not fitting! No chewing for me in Australia apparently. <_<

I got home with the taxi waiting in the driveway.

Brushed my teeth for last time, and luckily a small piece of dental cement dislodged between my teeth and I could close again!

My OH's parents were crying outside while we packed the combi with the stuff.

Kids were excited and we were exhausted. And the trip hadnt even started. :(

WE got to airport and booked in stuff with a car seat. All good. Kids played in Jimmy Jungles while we ate our last Wimpy.

Then we got on the plane to JHB. Kids excited and all went well with take off. And then we were in the air.

Then 3y old daughter wanted the loo. We went to back of plane, but when she heard the noise in there, she screamed "panty on, panty on" so hard the whole plane were looking at me funny. So luckily she held it in until ORT.

The next flight in JHB we barely made. And we were stuffed in with no spare seats in the entire plane (and that is why you dont fly in the school holidays :thumbdown: ). As we took off on our way to Perth, my eldest started screaming (yes, screaming). He has severe hay fever, and his ears weren't equalising. I was yelling from my seat to yawn, swallow, drink water. The air hostess brought him chewing gum. He was crying holding his ears. And people were staring at us! eventually he calmed down. Then he went pale and wanted to vomit. I was taken aback by this, because HE wasnt the child that I had worried about.

The 2 younger kids didnt want to eat or drink anything. They were jumping on the seats. Eventually showed interest in the in flight movies. My little girl had some My Pony toys and kept losing a pony or a brush or some accessory and they yelling that it is gone. Then I have to get up out of the seat, kneel down and look under chairs. And then again. And again. And again :mellow:

Eventually she drifted off. Then my 6y old started coughing and coughing while everyone was trying to sleep. The coughing got worse. And then he threw up. In the air plane blanket thing... People were staring and offering unsolicited advice. He looked terrible with blue circles around eyes and pale as milk. He eventually passed out asleep. Then an hour later they started waking people up for breakfast. We hadnt slept at all. We queued for ages at passport control. the kids were lying on the dirty floor and leopard crawling and complaining. When we eventually got through. The suitcases were already off the conveyor belt. Then we went thorough customs. Because of the boxes I ticked, we were searched. The kids running around and me trying to answer the questions of the officer.

We got out and looked for the transfer desk for all the luggage. Everyone going on the Melbourne were in a queue so we joined it exhaustedly. When we got to the front, it was a Virgin flight and we were on Qantas. Then it turns out due to the building works, our Qantas wasn't in the international terminal any more and we had to get the bus to domestic with all the luggage and check it in there. So with the tired kids we had to put the 5 huge cases and 5 hand luggage in the bus ourselves and get to the domestic terminal. Where we needed money to get the trolleys which we didnt have. And when we got, we had to go to check in and.... Our flight had closed! We missed it. :o

The next one was in 4 hours. And it was full. Except for the odd seat. So they gave us 5 tickets. But they were scattered individual seats. Not one next to each other!!!

Oh, the lovely :censored: gentleman informed me, the calculations for the flight had now closed.

What does that mean I say (tears rolling down my cheeks)?

That they calculate the food for the plane in advance. And because we are late bookings for the flight, we are excluded from catering. Ie no food for you!

And the ticket actually said that! "No catering" ticket. :o:(

An all that because there is no transfer at the international terminal as there should be.

I said to the man in tears, that it isnt our fault. It is theirs. And he said smugly that it isnt Qantas' fault, it is the Airport company for closing their desks. And that is just the way it is...

We were hungry. And tired.And there were no food except a take away coffee shop at the terminal. Nothing kid friendly. So there we sat for 4 hours. Kids rolling on floor and lying under the metal seats. Shoes off and seeing whose feet can go the blackest underneath by shuffling barefoot on floors.

I bought cokes and chocolate from vending machines. (And if anyone knows me they would laugh. I am the "no carbonated drink shall enter my house" kind of mother... But apparently one's standards can fall. Nay, plummet, When faced with no sleep and screaming kids. :unsure:

We would now arrive in Melbourne at 00.30am. The rental car company closes at - wait for it - midnight. I got a sim and rang them. Sorry, we close, try Hertz, they are open 24hours. By this stage I am beyond pride, I cry unabashedly. Please, I beg, and start relaying my day's story with the missed flight (I should have ended there, but I may have continued to actually tell her about the rest of my life and unhappy childhood,I dont know....) She offered to stay until our plane landed. (Melbourne, Friendliest city in the world!!!!) Perth, well shall I say, not good impression!

I rang the hotel in Frankston, and they were happy for us to check in at 2am. If fact, they would heat up the room for us! (Melbourne again!!!)

When we got on plane at last. Kids very upset: "No plane, mummy, NO PLANE, NOOOO PLAANEEEEE!!! :blink: "

And me promising: Last plane before new house. Last plane!!! I promise. ( I actually meant: LAST PLANE :censored: EVER!)

The air hostess seemed distressed by our seating arrangement. I was beyond caring, and half hoping they would put the kids on their own seats as far away from me as possible...

But no, they got people to move and we sort of sat near each other, if not all in same row.

By some miracle the kids were fine on this flight. Little one slept, middle one watched movie, eldest had no ear pain.

We got off and got our stuff, and which stage I realise that the car seat is missing... And then I realised, I left it on the conveyor belt in Perth! :censored:

So we had to beg rental car company for another car seat. Apparently not a problem at another $80.

Then we drove for first time in Australia (Loving Google Maps!!! Without it we would've been in the great dividing range by now!)

We got to very friendly hotel, manned by Jamaican guy with British accent. And warm room and hot baths and hyper kids.

We slept at 4 am. One child vomited at 6 am. Got up at 8am to have breakfast and get to appointment with Rental agency to sign contracts and get keys.

Then we went to new rental. Small compared to South Africa. And cold. And no bath! WTH? Apparently that is possible. I must have missed it when looking at it on internet. Just shower. The kids are too small for showers only.

But at least we have a place.

WE are all sick and coughing. And tired and jet lagged.

And not quite feeling it yet...

Thanks for sharing. It brings back so many memories of how emotional it was to leave and the long trip with children in tow. You've done well so far and it will get better. The sacrifice is worth every single discomfort (in my humble opinion). Just need to take lots of deep breaths, hope for the best and soldier on. Wishing you and your family the very best in settling in.

Eish!.. I read that like a Dan Brown novel. Even missed 2 calls on my mobile... Well done! And welcome to your new life.

I don't think I'm going to let the missus read this one, I might just end up going this by myself.. :whome: Keep us updated please.

Ah Shame man! I feel so much for you and your family. I especially relate with the kids on the plane. I can only say this now because I couldnt see it then but it was our stressing that upset the kids. We were worried what people thought and that meant we shouted more which upset the kids which upset us. Now when we fly we are so much more relaxed cause you have to have the attitude of not caring what other people think when your kid screams.

Anyway, I hope things get better.

Eyebrow, hugs. It will get better. Next thing you know your kids will never want to bath again. So pleased no 2 got through that ok with just a bit of vomit. Mine have vomited a few times on the plane. I'm so used to it now I make sure the bag is handy. Last flight back to South Africa my daughter vomited in first 20 minutes. It was expertly caught in bag and handed to hostess who was trying to hand out earphones. Daughter passed out not to resurface until we crossed Madagascar.

Wow you have me in tears. I would have been a WRECK. Big hugs, hang in there. Not the best start :( Shame, feel for you. Keep us updated we are all rooting for you!!

Tjank ek nou!

Ah, Friendy. It must have been awful!

Congratulations on making it to the end of your travels with most of your marbles ;)

Good luck with the settling in part. First stop is Kmart to get one of those big washing bath thingies that you can put inside the shower so the kids can bath in it.

Smaller is not always bad...trust me, bigger means "more to clean without a helper" :)

The first few weeks are going to be hectic. Hang in there...it does get easier!

Send me your number and I'll phone you if you want an ear or a shoulder :hug:

Eyebrow, my deepest sympathy, you have my number, please call if you have any questions.

Shake those events off and keep moving forward. You are doing so well, really you are. Your jetlegs will want to tackle you next. Its no point resisting it, it will dump you like a big wave, just roll with it. Just when you think you cant anymore (day3/4) it stops. Many people here shower their kids. Go get a baby bath for the little one and the rest can shower with parents or alone? Make a game of it, get bath sticker-thingies to stick on shower door to amuse. X

Well done. You made it!

Re the shower thing, for my kids I bought an enormous plastic tub, popped it in the shower and ran the shower to fill it. Then let the kids bath in it. You'll need to run the water a little hotter than normal because it cools on the way down - really :)

I am OK now

After that horrible flight and landing experience! Which is not really something I would want to write home about... (although if my previous post is something to go by, it IS something to write on this forum about)

Feeling a bit more positive.

Why?

Because I have found... K-mart! Yes that is right! Where had this store been all my life? (oh, and maybe some Bundaberg and Coke may also be contributing to my new relaxed state, but who knows :blush-anim-cl: )

I am exhausted though. The kids have, without fail, woken up 4 am every flipping morning. The one thing I need is sleep. In fact I would kill for it! (Although by method of elimination, I would need to kill the kids to get it... :glare::whome: )

Anyway, back to Kmart.

We have spent $1000 there. For that we got: 2 child car seats, 3 inflatable mattresses, 1 foldable bed, one stretcher bed, glass topped table and 6 chairs, TV/DVD combo, 12 piece crockery set (4 bowls, 4 plates, 4 side plates), 4 mugs, cutlery set, 3 camping chairs, 2 kiddies camping chairs, 2 kiddies plastic chairs and plastic kiddies table, 2 kiddies sleeping bags, one adult sleeping bag, a sharp knife, chopping board, drying rack for clothes and plates, kettle, wooden spoons, tea towels.

Always when I read this forum, after people arrive, they seem to wake up the next day and get centre link, car licence, cell phone contract, rental, bank account and a job all done on that day!

Well, I havent done any of that. I feel almost like an emigration failure here! :blush: We are just surviving. Day by day.

So much to still do...

To get the kids and yourself over the jetlag, you must go out into the midday sun. Spend a few minutes in the sun and do not sleep during the day. :)

Right.

We have entered the single digits now. (In the number of days before we land...)

it took 2 and a half years.

It must be the longest 457 application in history?

Thank goodness my employer has a long term view on recruitment, because he struggles so much finding people. So he is ok with it.

I feel a bit, you know, :unsure:

Anyway too late now. Everything is sold. Turning back now will be a major issue.

Saying goodbye. Sjoe.

What can I say. Awful. Feels like the end. Of something. Not sure what. But it feels that way. So final. Maybe like the living funeral that chzaau calls it...

The little ones have been crying because the dont want to go because of ouma. (My mother in law. Also in CT). Turns out every time she has been seeing them, she tell them things like; do you see the swing outside that you like, I am going to have to take it down, because no one will ever play on it again. Way to go MIL. The kids were all crying after our last braai there. And she refuses to come and visit. She doesnt even want to apply for a passport...

And my mother (in Krugersdorp). Well. She is saying things like: I might as well come over and bury her now. Because I will never see her alive again. But go ahead and enjoy your life, and see how it feels when your kids one day leave you to die. Alone.

She doesnt want to see me again. Because I do not exist for her any more.

So, no guilt trips from them then.... :angry:

I mean FFS. It is not a personal attack on them. I dont want to go. I want to stay. But my kids dont have a chance here. I have a responsibility towards them. Esp my little boy. He cant speak.

I am infinitely sad. That I cant mend things. Or make it right. Not for me, not for my son, not for our parents, hell, not for anyone.

What an f-up this is...

Hi Eyebrow,

I've been off the forum lately .... but you are a prime example of single-minded determination - in a good way :ph34r:

I have also been rooting for you - in fact my schedule is 3pm - Han at Pretty Woman, 5pm - Annie at Girl Friend Expeience, 7pm - Lizzy from Langtrees - please send money and viagra ..... :)

Seriously now I am so glad to see you have made it. You are stronger than anyone I know.

Edited by OubaasDik

Phew, Eyebrow, you've done an absolutely fabulous job ! I must admit, everybody that has all that centrelink, car license, bank account stuff sorted in the first three days, don't fly with three overstimulated kids !! You can rest assured you've done the absolute best possible. You did it, you won. All the rest are fluff. Congratulations !! :ilikeit:

It's over!! You've made it. Just think about that achievement!!

About the nappies. I also used Pampers for both my kids, but found here that Aldi's nappies are pretty good and cheap. You pay a fortune for Huggies and I've never had any issues with Aldi nappies.

Eyebrow, One day you'll look back on this and you'll one heck of a story to tell!! ☺️

Well done for taking it day by day - do what's best for YOU and works for YOU!

I've added "find a kmart" to my list of things to do when I arrive... ?

Edited by CandiceW