New and feeling stuck

Briggy

Hi All :)

My name is Brigitte. I am a qualified teacher and my husband is a qualified Diesel Mechanic. We are in the process of immigrating however we have hit a little hurdle. We have our eyes set on Perth due to family being there that are able to accommodate us initially.

I have done the academic Ielts and got the 7's and 8's that were required of me. My degree (papers) got sent off to Aus to be assessed and came back to be qualified as a Primary School Teacher. We then proceeded to apply for the Skilled Migrant visa but due to me being 24 and only 1.5 years work experience I miss PR by 5 points.

We are now looking at going over on 457 sponsored visa on either my degree or hubby's trade.

We have done police clearance as well as unabridged birth certificates etc...

Any suggestions or advise on which is a great route to go as we are so keen to immigrate and make the most of our lives in Aus.

Much appreciated:)

I would ask this question, do you have a sponsor that will give either of you a job at this time?

Wait till you're 25 and you will get the extra 5 points, how far is that away?

• Like 1

Isn't Diesel Mechanic on the skills list? I seem to remember it being there a little while back? If it is would applying with him being the primary applicant not be an option?

I think that experience is worth getting even if you have to wait 18 months. Just one word of advise, since they determine your arrival dates based on PCC and medicals you want to do those as late in the process as possible. Fortunately a PCC is relatively cheap and easy to redo. We had to do ours again to take advantage of the later timing.

Hand in here time flies.....

• Like 1

Thanks to all for your advise.