New girl

Jroos

Hi there.

I am fairly new to Australia and brand new to this forum and have a few questions. I am currently in Aus on a 1 year tourist visa. My boyfriend is Australian and after maintaining a long distance relationship for a year and a half I decided to come to Melbourne for a year whilst finishing my studies through UNISA. I will be looking to come over on a more permanent basis early next year. We will be applying for a de facto partner visa (309). I was wondering if anyone who has applied for/ been granted this visa before could give me some advice?

Is this visa granted fairly easily if you are able to prove the true and ongoing nature of your relationship?

Is it a case of "the more supporting documents the better?"

What is the actual processing time of the visa? (I know what it says on immi.gov.au but I was wondering how long it actually takes).

Would you advise dealing through an agent?

I hope someone can help, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys

• Like 1

Jroos, welcome to the forum. I cannot give you any valuable input on this type of visa, but wish you the best for your journey ahead.

P.S. is roos for your surname? My maiden name is also Roos...

Hi Jroos

My boyfriend and I started our visa app in 2012 and I would have had to apply on a 'de facto' visa although we ended up getting married in 2013 so it was no longer necessary. I can however tell you that I was informed by our agents (Hitchcock and Asscociates) to gather as much evidence as possible proving the relationship. Anything that would prove the duration of your relationship will help. I gathered letters from our pastor, family members, I had mutual friends writing letters stating that we are in a committed and loving relationship, photos from throughout the relationship, shared flight tickets (paid from 1 account), shared accommodation, holidays together, ect.

good luck!

Phone records might also help :)

Edited by 1982

Hi Jroos,