Plan is to immigrate to WA

ftt

Hi there everyone. My name is Terence and I am planning to apply for a visa (or send a EOI) by July. Theres so much things that need to be done though.

My plan is to apply for the following Visa. "Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 489)"

You need the following for this Visa:

• been nominated by an Australian State or Territory government agency or sponsored by an eligible relative living in a designated area
  • nominated an occupation that is on the relevant skilled occupations list
  • a suitable skills assessment for that occupation
  • not yet turned 50 years of age
  • achieved the score specified in your letter of invitiation based on the factors in the points test
  • at least competent English

I think my brother will be able to sponsor me as he lives in bunbury about 200km south of Perth and my occupation is on the list.

Has anyone else applied for this Visa before? And what would my next step be? Should I get in contact with the Skills assesment people or do the EOI first and once selected will they tell me what to do next?

Thanks

T.

Hi Terrence and welcome to the forum family, a family full of knowledge and with family members willing to share and care.

I don't know about the 489 as we applied for the 190 State sponsored. If I may ask, why did you decide on this specific one?

Good luck with the process and please keep us posted.

Hi Terrence and welcome to the forum family, a family full of knowledge and with family members willing to share and care.

I don't know about the 489 as we applied for the 190 State sponsored. If I may ask, why did you decide on this specific one?

Good luck with the process and please keep us posted.

Hi Bams, Its the only one where my brother can sponsor me as far as i'm aware. The others all need either the state or government agencies to sponsor you.

Hi Terrance

Welcome! there is great knowledge and support here.