Software Engineer wanting to move

Othalis

Hi everyone,

My name is Johan and I'm a software engineer by profession. For years I have thought about making the move to another country and I have finally made the decision to start the immigration process. I guess my reasoning is the same as many other expats who have made the move already, that is to build a better quality of life abroad and to live unashamed, peacefully and equal to others.

From what I could gather out of the process so far, the hardest part is to find a company willing to employ from abroad. Hence, I think the most important element where I'd need help is to find a job so that the rest of the process may continue. Now, I've got no idea how things work in the Australian job market but if it's anything like South Africa where companies often employ recommended friends or acquaintances then I think the battle might be halfway won. If there are any other IT professionals out there who could spare some time to give me a couple of pointers it would be great! I'll ask some specific questions later on...

Lastly, I would like to thank everyone for their on-going contribution on this forum. It really helps to read about real-life experiences of people and to receive good advice from people who have been through this already.

Regards,

Johan.

Hi Johan

Welcome to the forum.

Just to throw your careful plans up into the air, I would suggest starting off the visa process first.............I doubt that Australian companies will even sniff at your resume, unless you have work rights, so that involves either finding work and coming on a 457 visa, which can be risky if the work dries up as it is a temporary visa, or getting the permanent residence visa first and then looking for work................even then, you will find that although not impossible, it is far more difficult to source work whilst not in Australia, than in.