Newbie too

Batman4eva

Hello everyone, what a fantastic website.

i have taken the first step and convinced Joker (my man) to emigrate. i have spent hours scouring Ozzie's website trying to find a place to start. then i found all of you! HAPPY DAYS.

I have 2 batlings in primary school and since they have altered a very important law here,it is time. please can anyone tell me where to start. im not sure what visa i am eligible for. i do have family here in SA but a sister in Sydney who will sponsor me. however the Oz website says i only qualify if i have no family left here in SA. Is this so?

HELP! WHERE DO I START????

Hi there.....interesting name...lol

Firstly, welcome to the forum, I'm glad you found us. I also lived in Alberton for a time, well actually Brackenhurst, and hubby's folks are in Brackendowns.

Now I'm not an expert, so it might be wise to consult an immigration agent for an initial assessment, some will do this for free or you can run through a checklist of questions on their website to determine eligibility for a visa.

Sponsorship by relatives has changed over the years and some visas require a balance of family test ( the parent) where one has to prove that you have more family in Australia than elsewhere.

Most of the visas require you to pass a points test and have an occupation either on the Skilled Occupations List (SOL) or if sponsored by a company, state or family on the Consolidated Skilled Occupations List (CSOL)

There is a provisional visa of 4 years the subclass 489 whre you can be sponsored by a state or eligible family member, but you still need to get 60 points, submit an Expression Of Interest (EOI) and be invited to submit a visa application, as well have a skill on the skills list.