New Canberrans to-be (Hopefully)

Jasper

Hi Folks,

I thought I'd do a short introduction having just joined the forum and amidst the process of this whirlwind!

We're a young couple, just starting out our lives together with our dog and heading on to bigger and brighter things - that being the hope of Canberra.

Mid-2012 we decided to start looking into immigration in earnest, and I contacted a number of Migration agents to make enquiries. After much back and forth, we realised that it would be impossible to pay the costs of the Migration Agent as well as everything else, and then be able to afford food when we arrived! So, with some tips from people who'd done it before, we decided to go it alone. I'm an anal retentive researcher so thankfully we've been on the right track. Initially we looked at the obvious choices of Sydney, Melbourne etc but discovered my occupation is ONLY listed in ACT... to which my response was... Where the hell is Canberra? (I hadn't paid much attention). Well, lots of research later and we discovered that actually, this place is probably IDEAL.. so onward into the process. First step, getting the initial funds.. we had investments, so sorted that out.

Booked IELTS for me (primary applicant), which I wrote at the beginning of March this year, got the result.. 8.5 average ... the damned reading gave me an 8! I was annoyed until I confirmed that 8 - 9 gave me the full points, so I felt a bit better about that.

Vetassess went and did it's thing for 2 months while we waited anxiously. This also started around March, and got the positive assessment back in May... then waiting for the physical documents to arrive, which (even though I sprang for the courier fee) still took forever once it hit our shores.

The trickier part has been getting all the documents ready and certified, and particularly the statement of service from an employer who doesn't know I'm going yet, and can't know for quite some time!