Junior Mechanical Engineer: Opportunities

GMyers

Hi guys,

I have just joined SAAustralia Forums today and so far have found it quite humbling!

I graduated with a B.Sc (Honours) in Mechanical Engineering, from UCT in 2011.

I have a 476 Visa (18 month, last entry October 2013), with my work horizons firmly set for Aus.

It terms of my career path, because I'm young, I am opened minded as to which avenue to enter. Even if it means working part time/internships for a couple of months before landing the engineering job. However, my current job (Project Engineer) entails custom mobile HVAC Design & Project Management. I can provide my full CV on request.

I would really appreciate help on the following :

How is the mechanical engineering market at the moment?

Would my experience post a problem as most jobs refer to Senior/Lead/Principal positions?

Is part time work for young foreigners easy to come by?

List of potential companies/contacts that would be interested?

Regards

Grant

Hi Grant

Welcome with the forum, I can't help with most of the questions.

I am sure you are aware that on this visa you can work in any position you wanted, even outside your field of qualification. However, tactically if you are considering a longer term stay in Australia it is worthwhile looking at where your points will stand towards the end of your stay. Skilled employment in Australia for over 1 year using your engineering skills will lead to a further 5 points.

Some of the engineering companies have specific times of year for graduate intakes so it might be worth checking those out and often advertise on www.seek.com.au.

I do have a list (it is a bit old) of companies if you want to email me via my website (see signature) I can send you a copy.

Tee

Also check out the websites for BMA, Anglo American and Arrow Energy, they have graduate programs in place and you might be able to enrol.

Hi guys!

Thanks for the feedback!