Starting an Australian branch of an existing SA business

sianvz

I wonder if anyone can shed some light or advice please.

I work in the advertising industry as a client services manager/account executive for a full-service branding agency.

I studied a Bcomm in business management and majored in marketing and entrepreneurship with a post-grad in advertising communications, so that's pretty much my field and I have always had the long-term goal of having my own small agency when I have some more experience.

Today my boss was asking how our process is going and if there's a time frame yet for when we should get our visa and when we'll leave. He asked about how easy it is to find work there and what my career plans are and I got chatting to him about my plans to have my own business, specifically exactly the same type of business which he has here in South Africa. I was asking him about how they started out and whether they knew much or if they figured it out as they went along etc because I wanted to try figure out if I should rather first get more experience or if I would be ready to go for it and take on experienced people to work with me. He pretty much explained that this industry is a great one to start up in because the startup costs are minimal and it's mainly your time that people are paying for so there are not many ongoing overheads, besides employee salaries and basic office expenses.

He then made an interesting proposal. He wants me to look into the options for starting a branch of his business in Australia and me being a 50% managing partner. He wants to know the advantages and disadvantage and a bit more info on the legal side of things. His idea is that they could own 50% of the company and I could own 50% and then they put up 50% of the expenses and get 50% of the profits and can also give expertise and knowledge that I don't have yet.