Room needed for short term accommodation in Melbourne - Aug 2012

MichaelM

Hi All

I will be heading over to Melbourne in early August 2012 to find a job before I bring my family over. I was recently granted a 175VE skilled migrant visa.

I am 33 years old male, married and have two small boys. I am an accountant and will be looking for work in Melbourne.

If anyone has a spare room to rent out or knows of someone who has an available room please let me know.

I have booked a motel room for the 1st week but I am looking for more affordable short term accomodation while I am job hunting.

I am a tidy person and willing to help with household chores as well. My first language is English and I also speak Afrikaans.

Any assistance would be appreciated.

Michael

Edited by MichaelM

Hi Michael,

I don't know if you have managed to find a place yet but I'll be in the same boat soon. I have done a bit of research and I have seen quite a few short term options on Gumtree which look like they could work. If you Google "short term furnished accommodation Melbourne" you should find something.

Good luck and let me know how it goes.

Hello Michael

Funny, my husband's name is Michael, he is an accountant, and we moved to Melbourne last year!!

Anyway, my Michael came ahead of us (a month) and stayed in a studio apartment in Mordialloc - it's actually the spare bedroom in a very large house. The owners rent it out to new migrants like us, and are really helpful getting you settled in. It was great, and not so lonely as he was here on his own. It is self contained, with it's own entrance, own bathroom and a small kitchenette (microwave only). It cost us $450 per week, which I know is expensive, but you'll soon realise not as expensive as hotels.

If you stay with them from when you first arrive, they might even pick you up from the airport, so don't even bother with the motel. They also threw in lots of extras for us, they were super!