Duty Free items

Heymanse

So my sister is coming to visit me end of the year and of course, had to ask them to purchase a bottle of Cape Velvet and a bottle of Red Heart Rum for hubby at the Duty Free area at the airport. I've never done this before but have seen that people either get their Duty Free items when they get to the their destination but I've also sean people with their Duty Free items being brought onboard for the flight. What exactly happens to the alchohol items you purchase at Duty Free before you board a flight?

Also, if she decides to buy these items before entering the arport out of fear that Duty Free might be more expensive and decides to have it in her checked baggage, how much alcohol is normally allowed per person?

Also not sure how this might impact everything, but they are flying via Hong Kong, staying over there for 2-3 days on their way to Sydney and back.

Allowance is 2,25 litres of alcohol per person over age of 18.

I would recommend they buy it in SA and pack in their checked baggage nice and snug so it does not break and to carry the slip just in case.

When we travelled to Oz via Singapore a few years ago we were not able to purchase duty free booze at Joburg airport and travel with it via Singapore. Had to buy it in Singapore..hence my suggestion to buy in SA (where it is usually cheaper than duty free) and to check it in. Risk - it breaks!!!

Duty free the biggest rip off on the face of the earth. I travelled to 35 countries in my time and have seen product for sale at the same or even higher prices then what you could pay for it outside.

With regards to buying booze, just keep in mind that you can not take it on the plane if you buy it from outside of the airport due to liquad restrictions. So must be packed in your checked baggage. A 750 ml bottle will take up nearly 1 KG of weight in your check luggage.