Working outside Melbourne - IT

sp4rkman

Hi all,

Our Victoria State Sponsorship was approved last week and everything has now been submitted to DIAC.

We've been doing a lot of research into Melbourne as this is where everyone expects you to go. However, how many people settled outside of Melbourne? If so, where?

I work in IT and wondered if there was IT work elsewhere in the State? I understand Melbourne is my best bet but we're looking to avoid the rat race, the traffic and crowds. Our move to Australia was to find a better life and be able to spend more time as a family. Melbourne looks lovely, but it's a big city after all.

I hope to hear from you.

Jonathan

I cannot directly answer you question, but I have a suggestion.

Set up a search using seek.com.au for regional Victoria. Make sure Geelong is included, as I have seen a fair number of very nice positions advertised there and it seems to be much less 'city' than Melbourne. I am not sure where you would draw the line between what you would see as city or rural.

IT is a hugely wide field. What do you do? I am pretty sure even the most rural town needs somebody that can fix a printer and show the new secretary the difference between Word and Excel, but the same town would possibly not need an Oracle DBA.

You are right Melbourne is huge. But that also means that you've got a wide variety of places to live. We live in Outer Eastern Melbourne, 30 mins drive / 40 mins on the train from Melbourne city but in a beautiful rural like area. On my way to school to drop the kids off I see horses, llamas, rabbits, cows... Lots of hills and trees.

But then also close to 3 major shopping centers and a myriad things to see and do. We love it here and wouldn't live anywhere else.

If you are able to catch a train to the city you won't really be dealing with traffic and crowds. Also compared to England (we also lived there) Melbourne sometimes seems virtually empty to me, depending where you go!