Bevmac: Newbie

Bevmac

Hi everyone, i've been lurking and reading a lot over the past few days and there is a lot of really helpful info from you all, i decided I better introduce myself and stop being a lurker and hopefully try and be more of a contributor.

We (myself, hubby and our two sons, aged 4 and 10) have been thinking of leaving South Africa for 2 odd years now. (Well, actually more me than hubby!)

Hubby is an Electrician by trade also an Air Craft Electrician, im a PA.

We have not been directly affected by crime really oh a bit of petty theft at the most and maybe that is why this decision has been so hard to make. But one of the main reasons is we really cannot see a future for my 2 sons in South Africa because of many reasons one being they are male and white so we have to try and give them opportunities in their lives that they may not get here and if that means moving half way accross the world then thats what we have decided to do.

Anyway im hoping to learn a lot more as we go along and hopefully make some friends along the way.

Cheers

Bev

Smart move, Bev!

Most of the South Africans that I come across have families . . . . or are young, bright eyed and want to raise a family.

They are invariably white, and as a consequence, don't feel that South Africa offers them much nowadays and in the future.

10 years ago, you'd go from one year to the next hardly coming across a South African accent. Now the "rush" is on! You hear South Africans in the supermarket, you hear South Africans on the telephone, you hear South Africans up the pub and walking around town.

At this rate, make sure you aren't the last one to turn the lights off there.