Got a job while still in SA

Maloui

Hi all,

just because I know how I stressed about this, I want to let you know about my experience.

I have been job hunting for 3 weeks now, with ALL my registrations and papers in order. I have applied for about 10 positions in Adelaide only, and I have seccured employment. I only applied for jobs advertised on seek.com.au and careerone.com.au and about every single one responded, even if just by telling me they will keep my resume on file.

Anyway, I am a psychologist and found the direct route to send your info to the company (no recruiter) worked great. I used a lot of humour, not sarcasm, and I think the relaxed attitute did wonders.

I applied last Friday, got a skype interview on Monday morning. Interview 20 minutes (about who I am and why I am moving, and why I want to do the specific job). They asked me for an example of reports that I have done for clients (to assess my report writing skills) and I provided these on Tuesday. On Wednesday morning they send me a letter with the offer, and we negotiated until I accepted today!!

I have also been contacted for 3 other interviews, of which I have done 1 and declined 2 others today.

I think what helped me is definitely the qualification, but also the attitude with which I presented myself. When they asked what package I wanted, I said I have done research and see the payrange is form $** to $##, and I will be willing to start looking at the lower range, if it can be re-negotiated after 6 months. I also asked about training and support a lot, which I could see they were happy with, a recruiter and lots of people on the forum have indicated that they like you to fit in, and not stand out. I think to get into an industry, this is very important at first.

So, to conclude, a skype interview, where they can see you and hear your voice, are sometimes good enough!!! Keep at it, there is options out there.