Zim: can I avoid getting unabridged BC?

Short&Tall

Hi, I'm a newbie so sorry if I am asking something already discussed - I couldn't find an answer.

My OH has an "Extract of entry of Birth Registered in the district of Bulawayo in Rhodesia" - A5 in size with no parents listed etc.

Am I right in assuming that he needs to get an unabridged version of his birth certificate.

Has anyone managed to get around this and get through without one - does it depend on your CO?

The next question is given we have only just started the application process so probably have a long time lag before a birth certificate is needed. Is it worth us trying to get a copy through the Zimbabwe consulate in South Africa rather than an agency?

Thanks

I saw a thread a while ago. Apparently you can and do need to apply for it and bunnyhop helped the poster. Maybe search the forum and see if you can find the post.

I can not answer all of your questions, but this I know: you do need unabridged birth certificates. You will need them again for your Aussie passport - and believe me, if you think it was a pain to get a visa, try applying for your passport!! Even if you make a small mistake on your form, the whole thing gets thrown out, and they won't even look at it without unabridged birth certificates if you were born outside Australia. We also needed a marriage certificate to proof that my surname has legally changed, as it was different from the surname on my birth certificate. We even had to drag our guarantor to the Post because they threw out the form because the "h" looked like an "a" in the part he filled out. Another time, the signature was "hanging over" the date - note, not touching it, but hovering in the vicinity of the date! That must be the most stressful experience I've had in Australia! Anyway, 4 tries later and we finally got our passports! Sorry, I'm completely off the topic now.