Tasmania

Elmo

Hi all. My name is Elmo. I am just waiting for my visas to be approved then I am on my way to OZ. I was looking at photos of Tasmania the other day and was all most sold on the idea to immigrate to Tasmania. Can anyone convince me otherwise not to go there. I live in Durban at the moment and am a electrician here. My plan was to go to Brisbane.

Thanks guys

Hi Elmo

Well if nothing else you have gone from one extreme to the next.

Brisbane is tropical, typical Durban weather, hot very humid summers and mild winters.

Tasmania is much further south, cold in winter and not so hot in summer. I would not mind living in Tasmania at all, but then I do not like the humidity and I love the cooler weather.

Quite frankly, I think you need to do a search on google with regard to weather patterns for the two areas, and decide whether or not you would be able to live with the weather in Tasmania.

What exactly was it that you like about Tasmania?

hi Elmo

i am also an electrician and am waiting for my visa to be granted which we expect any day now. My wife and myself have done huge research on tasmania for the last year and a half, and if you consider the facts and statistics tasmania is not nearly as bad as what most people make out. The bad press is mostly caused by ignorance and therefore will never give and educated informed view. If you consider that Tasmania has the lowest crime in Australia, Hobart (capital of tassie)actually being the second driest city in Australia(just behind adelaide), fastest growing House price index, slowest most relaxed way of life in austarlia, then Yes it really is great. Downside is the island is quite remote when considering they are always the last to get any new form of technology, Service agents of certain products etc, not as much work opportunities and salary (defenitly Electricians) being a lot lower than brisbane.

i was over in September and was actually sold even more on the place and now cannont wait to go

Henry