Springbok: New in forum

Springbok

Hi everyone

I have just discovered this forum. My name is Charl Marais, I'm 32, single and Afrikaans. Working as quantitative analyst in credit risk at Nedbank in Sandton. Applied for the Skilled Independent visa through Hitchcock & Associates. Received my permanent residence visa a month ago and planning to visit family in Brisbane in April 2007 to activate the visa. As I work in banking, my preference is to settle in either Sydney or Melbourne.

I hope to meet some of you here in Joburg or Pretoria, but would also like to hear from people who are already in Sydney or Melbourne. I spent 2 weeks in Melbourne in 1999 and loved the place!

For those of you still planning to emigrate, you can buy quite a handy guide for US$15 and download it at http://www.arriveandthrive.com/aus/index.htm

Cheers

Charl

Hi Charl

Welcome to the forum!

We have one thing in common, we both love MELBOURNE! We have been here nearly 10 years now, and I really could not think of living anywhere else.

If you have any questions, we would be happy to try and answer them.

If you find yourself in Melbourne on your proposed visit, then we would be happy to meet with you.

Mara

Hi Charl - Welcome! You'll find this site VERY helpfull. Just as an introduction - I'm in Pretoria, & I was in a very similar field to you in Credit Risk & ABF at Imperial Bank (Now part of Nedbank). Was wondering where Hitchcock & Associates are based ? Did you need a degree to qualify on the Independant Skills Visa? I'm asking on behalf of someone else, but will check it up on the DIMIA website anyways, thanks, Bronwyn

Hi Bronwyn, what a coincidence, I am actually outsourced by Nedbank to Imperial Bank!

Hitchcock & Associates is based in Sydney. The MD, Cecil Bass, is actually from Joburg, but migrated to Australia in 1998 and joined Hitchcock 2 years later. Another director, Annaleen v/d Westhuyzen, is also from S.A. Hitchcocks have 2 offices in S.A.:

131 Rubida Street