Electricians in Australia.

Rassie

Hi All.

I am an electrician, still in SA, Gauteng. My P.R. application is in it's final stages, and I will soon be looking for a job in the Perth area. Now this is not a job request. All I want, is if there are any electricians on this forum who have recently gone through the process of obtaining a job in Australia, please let me know about the steps you should take and if there are any pit falls that I should be aware of. Included is the process as I understand it. Please let me know if I am right or wrong.

First you do your skills assessment, BUT this is only for immigration purposes. You send all your qualifications, letters from your workplace of exactly what you do, on what equipment you have worked on, what tools you use, what training you have done. The more detail, the better. Bullet points are apparently better. It makes it easier for the person on the other side to read and assess. Then TRA do the assessment and let you know if you were successful. I've done all that and was successful. Now this does not allow you to work in Aus. Once you receive a visa - P.R. or Workers visa - that allow you to work in Aus, you still cannot work as an electrician. Now you have to do the whole TRA thing again, to get registered at the Australian Trade Recognition Authorety ( ATRA ) Still you cannot work as an electrician in Aus. Now only can you apply to do the electrical trade test, and you can only do it once you are in Australia.......

Now I ask with tears in my navy blue eyes, HOW DO YOU MAKE A LIVING IN AUS while working through all this red tape? If any one knows of a better, quicker way to do it, please let me know. I am sure I will find something, as a tool boy or something, to do while I wait to do my trade test. Regards, Rassie.

• 2 months later...

Hi Rassie