New beginnings...

Red

Hi All

So glad to finally be here, after all the stress before we left, it’s good to have FINALLY arrived…

I will be writing rather lengthy (perhaps mundane to some) posts. Just about general life here in Oz.... so for those of you who are keen... let our journey begin!

The flights, and Day 1.

As some of you might know it was our first flight off the African continent and Rebecca’s first flight anywhere. Durban to Jo’burg was a great flight, Becca received special attention and was allowed to visit with the captain and co-pilot in the cock pit… the captain asked her if her fluffy toy had a boarding pass… she really enjoyed that. Jo’burg to Perth was just so awful. We sat in the middle of two families – both with young kids… and they basically cried non – stop. Becca was awesome, she only had one complaint at about 3am to say ‘I never thought flying could be this bad’… she had a little cry, but then managed to get about an hour’s sleep. Bern and I were awake the whole eight hours…

At Perth we waited ages for our luggage, only to find that two bags were missing… but the delay helped us when it came to clearing customs… we sailed through… No worries! Throughout the flights we all sailed through customs and security… BUT at the domestic boarding area from Perth to Adelaide was quite simply a NIGHTMARE! Ah man, even writing this makes me stress again!!

The first issue was that we were carrying a ‘vuvuzela’ and had to explain that it was not in fact a weapon of mass destruction, but that it was in fact similar to a bugle or trumpet used at sporting matches. You can just imagine the look on the Aussie officials faces, thinking ‘ Bloody South Africans’… then Bern and I couldn’t get through the metal detectors without the damn things beeping… Geepers, it was so bad, we just couldn’t get through. Everything metal had to be taken off… this included all jewelry, belts, shoes… it was so bad… and all I kept thinking was we had gone so far, why at the last stop did we have this nightmare… eventually we got through… somewhat embarrassed!

The Perth to Adelaide flight was great, amazing conditions, we were able to see land most of the way. So flying into Adelaide was a real treat. We got to see a birds eye view of our new beautiful city. Weather was stunning! Arrived to be met by our new Aussie friend Bob :ilikeit: , and the government meet and greet volunteer. For those who don’t know – the South Australian government provides a free meet and greet service to skilled migrants. Basically a volunteer is supposed to meet you at the airport and take you to your destination, as well as show you around the city and set you up with tax, medical etc etc. But Bern and I were quite confident that we could do this ourselves. So we were met by Sylvia the volunteer (Tuesday) on Tuesday 18h30 Adelaide time, only to request that she showed us were we lived and handed over our keys. She was adamant that she should take us on a sightseeing tour! As much as we had explained that the last time we had slept was on Sunday night, she just couldn’t get it into her head that we wanted to put our feet up!

So after a slight sightseeing detour, we arrived at our flat. As part of the meet and greet service they organize you very reasonably priced rental. The flat was very neat and welcoming, two bedrooms, one bathroom and kitchen. The flat is also furnished with major appliances and beds etc. Unfortunately one of the bags that was lost contained Becca’s sleeping bag. Bob very kindly offered to take us to the local ‘Big W’ so we could buy a cheap sleeping bag to get us through the night. So off we trooped to the Big W and purchased the sleeping bag with some of the money Qantas had given us because of the lost bag. (We were given $120 for the inconvenience). Bob, very kindly also took us to a look-out spot called Windy Point. From there we were able to see the city of Adelaide. This was at about 8 in the evening, and still very light outside.

That’s one of the things we are having to adapt to, the sun is still out, shining at 7pm, it only really gets dark by 8:30pm. Becca doesn’t fancy the idea of going to bed whilst the sun is still out.

Bob dropped us back off at the flat (Rebecca was fast asleep in the back of the car), along with our new sleeping bag, to get a good night’s rest… BUT… we couldn’t get the door to unlock. So there we were, jet lagged, tired and hungry with no food nowhere to sleep, outside our front door trying to opening the damn lock… it took us ten minutes… the longest ten minutes of our lives I am sure. We couldn’t even phone anyone… no mobile phone, and we didn’t know anyone’s number!

We eventually got in… hungry still, with no food, thirsty, but not sure if we could drink the water… so we went to bed… to rest for the next day…

More adventures to follow,

red

• Replies 460
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Red

• Lyn

• Alida

• Karen-in-Brisbane

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Hey Red !!

I know a lot of people this side have been waiting to hear from you!!

Thanks for the 'journal entry'.. SO nice to keep track of your adventure :ilikeit:

Trusting you are a bit more settled by now.. and loving your new 'home'..

Keep the posts coming, ok?

Love

.M.

Hey Red!

So glad that you got there safely! :ilikeit:

I will be on the lookout for your posts, as we will also be going to Adelaide once our Visa is approved (God willing!), so keep 'em coming!! Want to know every little detail please.

Have a good one

NicciG

Hi Red

Great to hear from you...and looking foward to hearing all your new posts in your new country....

Marc

Day 2 …

Tuesday night we battled to sleep, I imagine it would be the effects of jet lag. Waking up at odd hours, and being wide awake… then we fell asleep again… Bern woke up around 10am on Wednesday and decided we needed to find some liquid refreshment. We had heard so many differing opinions of the water, and we couldn’t quite remember if we could drink it or not. Blimmen South Africans… come from Africa, of course we can drink the water!!!

So Bern literally dragged Rebecca and I out of bed… damn, I felt like I had serious sense of humour failure.

So picture the setting. We have all probably slept 6 hours since SUNDAY night… we felt like we have serious hangovers, and needed some water. Don’t know the area, but agree that we sort of remember the way to the ‘Big W’… So we trek… to find water… food… anything… and we trek. Bernard convinced his inbuilt satellite navigation skills will get is there… and we trek… and trek… folks we must have walked 3.5km’s in like a 28 degree heat that felt like a 45 degree furnace… and we trekked. Eventually pride taking a back seat, we ask a local. She says we are heading in the opposite direction, and sends us on our way to find the closest refreshment station, which turned out to be a fish and chip shop. I would love to go into detail how good that water tasted, but I’ll get onto Aussie water later.

We managed to sight a bus stop, and some locals. Nothing like asking a long-haired teenager how you go about catching a bus…

We get onto the bus, and ask for tickets… three please… driver says ‘concession’?… so we say yes… he says ‘two tickets’?… we say ‘no, three’… he says kids under 5 go free… so I say ‘no she’s 7’… with a wink in his eye he says again ‘2 tickets, yes?’ we say ‘thank you’. Rebecca appalled that we lied, but he saved us $1.20… that’s seven Rand!

We had to stifle much laughter, because we weren’t sure how to get the bus to stop... we learn quickly though… just watch the locals.

So we manage to get off the bus and sight MACDONALDS… yeah something familiar. We decided I would order. So I stand in the queue, this will be easy… I know MacDonalds…. Can I have a Big Mac and chips…

‘sccoooze mi’ says the pretty asian girl..

I say loudly, Big Mac and chips… uh… no.. fries…

Oh dear, why couldn’t I have asked Bern to order…

So between the south African girl and the pretty asian girl we eventually come to a general understanding of our dietary needs…

After MacDonald’s we finally arrived at the ‘Big W’ with two backpacks... managed to handle the four wheel drive trolleys quite well, you see unlike SA all wheels swivel. In SA just your front wheels swivel. Trolleys were fine… but we were hopeless. Kept holding people up in the aisles, backing up into innocent bystanders and generally acting like tourists…

Bought a whole bunch of food, filled the backpacks and found the nearest bus stop.

Board the bus, confidently ask for concession tickets, receive them and head home along the only known 3.5 km bus route…

Before I end, I just want to point out two things we have since learnt.

1. A concession ticket is actually only for pensioners or students, we only learnt this a few days into our bus travels. How stupid we felt.

2. The ‘Big W’ is 3.5 km’s away from our flat… along the bus route… HOWEVER, it’s only a 900m walk if you use the Garmin navigation and find out the shortest route!

We have so much still to learn,

red

PS - Whoever said the sky in Australia wasn't as blue, clearly needs to go to their local eye specialist... :ilikeit:

Thursday (Day 3), and the rest of the week.

Forgot to mention that the previous day we had left home at 5:30pm to go venturing into the city. Caught the bus and landed up near China Town… walked around and did the tourist thing and bought a ton of Aussie memorabilia... stickers, shirts, tracksuit top, keys rings, magnets… oh my. The hard part is we feel like tourists, but we have to keep reminding ourselves that this is now home. We are not tourists. We are immigrants in this country. The memorabilia will not suddenly disappear.

The city centre is just so clean and inviting. Rebecca was captivated by the public water drinking fountains, it was quite a laugh, she got water all over her face and up her nose. We also had our first taste of Farmers Union iced coffee… I kept thinking that friends of mine, Tracey and Maxine, need to have some crates sent to them… it is so, so tasty!

We couldn’t get over the fact we were walking around the centre of a city at 6:30pm!! Realising we weren’t sure when the buses would stop running, we caught a bus back home. Buses we believe run all evening, but obviously just less frequently. Got home at 7:30pm… stayed up till late.

So Thursday, was the day to set up the house. With no car we must have looked hysterical. Two backpacks, one pull along shopping bag and off we go. Stock up on food and supplies, lamps and extension cords, laundry baskets, clothes airer and frying pans… and no room to spare. We were heavily laden and went up and down, up and down to the store and back home again… I have never done so much walking in my life… let’s hope it pays off and I can start losing some of that unwanted weight. Can you picture Bernard, Rebecca and I walking the streets with frying pans, clothes airer’s and laundry baskets… enough said…

Some things we have come across… that have either made us confused or amused. Or just plain odd.

1. The tap water is just awful. We have noticed that a few people have a ‘pura tap’ installed in their homes, this purifies the water. We have bought boxed water (comes in a container similar to a box of wine), just to get us more used to the taste. We know, we need to get adjusted, but slowly slowly!!

2. We have no burglar bars or security gates… just fly screens. And our front door has one silly lock.

3. When you go to your local bank, you don’t stand in a long queue at enquiries, or at the teller. You simply use a touch screen computer in the front reception, it prints out a ticket and you are called when it is your turn. So simple and so quick. Maybe some banks are different, but we are with ANZ and it is so impressive. South African banks could take some good tips.

4. I have searched, and there is no cream soda… nothing. I have bought Creaming soda, but it was red, and tasting nothing like sparletta sparberry or cream soda.

5. Sweets are called lollies… not sweets.

6. There aren’t that many smokers – or maybe we just don’t see many.

7. When you are invited to tea, that is in fact supper… and when you are asked if you want tea after supper… well that is just normal tea.

8. Pedestrians have it lucky here. The centre of the city is just amazing… completely pedestrian friendly!

9. Some of the road signs here in Adelaide along the highway change when necessary, so if there is a traffic obstruction or something similar, the road signs change… and drivers, would you believe it, actually stick to the speed limit.

10. There are tons of sidewalk café’s, people sitting out in the sunshine everywhere.

11. The school kids uniforms’ and attire is very relaxed. Boys with longish hair, girls wearing their hair down, wearing make up, rings etc. This is public schooling I think.

12. Australians seem like they are always on a mission in the city. They walk with the speed of lightning… and of course us dawdlers have learnt to say sorry a lot!

13. You hardly see any police around, yet everything is in order. We have been playing spot the police car… since we arrived we have probably seen 4 police vehicles.

Friday we went into the city and activated our bank account. Also went looking around Rundle Mall. No words can describe this shopping area. For all you women out there, it is like shopping paradise.

Shops galore, eating places like you cannot believe… I am still in awe… we have been a few times now, and I still don’t think I can get used to it.

Saturday we decided after stocking up with more home goodies, that we would go looking for a TV (after all, we have to have a tv). A new friend of ours recommended ‘Good guys’… so off we went… its 5 km’s away from our flat. We caught the bus there. Only to arrive one minute after they had closed. So we managed to get a bus to take us to the stop we needed to get to for our route home. So we wait… and wait for our bus… Nothing… we phone the metro bus helpline… they inform us that the last bus on that route has already gone past… So we had to trek again, yip… 3.5km’s… after a long day of stocking up the house… we all had to walk. Rebecca was a little champion, she started getting somewhat moody so we stocked her up with chips and red juice, and she was A for away!

Sunday, we were taken sightseeing by some lovely expats, Manny and Lee. Manny picked us up and took us for an interesting and informative drive. Showed us some beautiful area’s. We had lunch with them at a lovely place in Stirling, and from there we went cherry picking. Ah, what a bunch of fun! Really and truly a great experience. Picking and eating straight off the trees, Rebecca was in her element. We had our first barbeque and Aussie beer that evening… exhausted but so content.

We slept well that evening… what a great start. The next week would be some work and a little play!

Till then, take care…

red

Dear red

Welcome to Oz, thank you for sharing your experiences......how I remember those first few days/weeks and months...you journal is certainly bring back memories.

I hope you are going to be extremly happy in Adelaide

Good luck and have lots of fun.

Enrica

Hey there Red

Your journal entries are just the best ! We are also heading to Adelaide next year and went on LSD trip in September so I totally relate to all your experiences. We spent 2 weeks in Adelaide and absolutely loved it! Also met Manny and Lee - what a great couple with nerves of steel - they spent a day sightseeing with us and our 4 kids in our rented 'taxi' and that literally takes 'nerves of steel'!

Just a quick question... we will also be making use of the 'meet & greet' service. Is there a time limit on the rental accommodation that they found for you?

Hopefully we'll meet some time in the future - when we are also 'Adelaidians'. Keep the posts coming...really helps to wrap my head around the whole thing!

Wow, just love your postings. Sounds like you guys are having a ball - tired mind you - but having fun anyway. Guess that's why everyone refers to the change as the great "adventure". We felt exactly the same when we spent a month on the Sunshine Coast in March - safe, secure, organised and confused all in one. Please keep us updated on your "adventure"

Hey Red and Just B squared,

What a lekker read! So nice to know you guys are having fun. That walking would have killed me.

So when is the next post?

Jordy

EDIT: DORK!

Edited by Jordy

Awsome Red!! I only came across this thread now so I got to read all three posts one after the other, it sounds great and you sure have done a lot of walking.... All the more reason to pop into those clothing stores and stock up in some smaller sizes!!! when Burn isn't looking of course.

All the best guys it sure sounds like you are really enjoying the experience, just keep repeating to yourselves...I am not a tourist I am not a tourist.

Stunning reading material, Red!

We will (hopefully) join you all in Adelaide one day ..... (Seems so far still)

Great to hear about all your experiences. Please keep them coming!

A

thanks for this diary, keep 'em coming Red!

The joys of council housing.

So we live on the other side of the train track at the moment, and not the good side. People really, this is literally speaking… trains go by all day, all night.

Just a reminder for those who might have missed it, we took the great opportunity of using the free meet and greet service, and part of this service is that the government finds you accommodation on arrival. The beauty is, is that you have a guaranteed furnished apartment AND you have a much cheaper rental. The flipside to the coin is that you basically live in council housing. Which believe me, is really impressive. Seems to be fairly newish everything from beds, appliances, cutlery and crockery. This rental can be used for a maximum of three months, it just helps families settle in easier.

Now you are wondering what the issue is… well it’s not the flat, not really the area, and not the furniture… it’s our fellow council housing neighbours. Initially Rebecca was reprimanded when she got a little noisy… after two days we realized it really wasn’t necessary.

Disclaimer: This is my opinion only, and certainly not my general view of general Australian citizens.

So here we go.

Meet the Curry Family (and no, that’s not their surname). Every night when you walk into the Apartment block you get this waft of freshly cooked curry. We can’t understand why curry every night??? I have been thinking about perhaps swopping recipes… but decided against it.

Meet Amanda. She lives a few flats down. She was the first to introduce herself. Looked like she hadn’t brushed her hair for weeks, and looked like she was still coming off her nightly binge of booze and drugs… She was very pleasant, until we mentioned the fact we were immigrants… (stupid, stupid, although our accent does tend to give us away). She then had to go on about how her friends have waited twenty years to get into housing like this, and how we had just walked in. But she says to us… No worries of course, don’t feel guilty or anything… gulp…

Couldn’t pick up if there was a hint of sarcasm or what. Basically when we see Amanda we hide. We don’t hear much from her, except the odd night when her boyfriend screams… AMMMMMAAAANNNNNNNDDDDA… from the ground floor to her upstairs flat because she won’t let him in.

Amanda also advised us not to get involved with the neighbours, pity she can’t take her own advice.

Meet Senegalese man. He lives way away from us, but doesn’t go unheard. We haven’t actually met or even seen him. But every night around seven he blasts his Senegalese tunes. His light stays on all night… perhaps that’s why we only hear him in the evenings… maybe he is nocturnal and only comes out at night.

Meet Heavy Metal Man (aka Aging rocker) We see him only briefly, but hear his Heavy Metal (something like Korn or Slipped Knot for those in the know) fairly often. He lives in the flat beneath us and generally keeps to himself. He is about 40, dresses in jeans and a dirty kinda sweatshirt with this long, dirty, perhaps even greasy hair… nicely complimented with a bald spot. So sometimes we have, Senegalese tunes mixed with Heavy metal… the sound is fascinating…

Meet Angry Old lady. She sneaks in and out of the apartment building, sometimes wearing what looks like Long John’s, always what looks like a scowl. She never makes eye contact and always glares. But I am pleased to report that yesterday I gave her a wave… and her whole face changed… to a big huge grin. I am determined that she is actually could be called Nice Old Lady, but only time will tell.

Meet the Hearing Impaired man. He stands by the window and shouts on his cell phone. Last night we were updated on his news, and believe that he told his caller he wasn’t well at the moment. Hope he actually has some hot gossip soon.

Meet China Man. I am not sure were China man lives, but I see him almost every night at the laundry area. You see the trick to keeping to yourself, is sightseeing during the day, watching a bit of telly, and then washing in the evening. Clearly China man, has the same idea as me. Logic says that most council flat dwellers, are living off some form of government support, and can’t afford the luxury of a tumble drier. So no one would do washing at night, because it just couldn’t get dry. So at about 7:30 in the evening I sneak down quietly to the laundry area, every night to be greeted by China Man. The difference is, is that China Man and I have the same understanding. We are not there to chit chat, but to do our washing. So we now exchange a friendly wave, in the common understanding that we are actually trying our best not to be seen.

So much to keep a person here entertained. Hope it entertained you…

red

Hey Red - I think you should start a book.....

I must say you make me smile...

Well hopefully you will find a place for yourselves soon with neighbours of your own choice......

Although these sound far more facinating!!!

Hehehe!! I had a good giggle at your expense there Red!! sound fascinating to read but I guess the reality of living the experiences is not quite the same.

Reminds me of the FREINDS episode - The One with the Fat Naked Guy :ilikeit:

So good to hear about all these adventures down under!! The neighbours sound a treat but am sure the saving will come in handy when you're ready to settle in your own place!!

Keep us updated!

K&B

You are having quite an experience of Australia, I confess I am a little jealous. Look forward to your inserts.

Susan

Week 2.

Enough tourist business. Week 2 was the week to get on with Aussie living, or at least try to.

Early in the week Bern met with a fantastic ex-South African recruitment officer, just to get a few tips on how to go about sending out the right looking CV cover letter. He has been very kind in helping with good tips and letting Bern use the internet to get connected.

Talking about connection, I think it is about time I fess up that ‘My name is Kirsten and I have an internet addiction’… I have battled, like you cannot believe. Wondering how many notifications are sitting on Facebook, or wondering how many new posts have been made on the forum… man, just pathetic… and on looking back, I understand now that the World Wide Web carries on, just fine without my input!

While Bern looks for jobs, the girls usually (sometimes we just sleep in) try to get the flat into some bit of order. Bit of a clean and tidy here and there. The wonderful thing about the Aussie’s is that they are very in to their recycling, So we bought a bin that is divided into two sections. One for normal waste, the other for recycled waste (yes, this was another one of those items we walked back home with). But the million dollar question was ‘What exactly is allowed in the recycle bin’… So the only way to confirm this, is to go down to the main bins located in the waste area… so we sneak, have a peek… and start our own recycling initiative. We still get confused, and aren’t 100% certain… but hey, at least we’re doing our bit… and I refuse to look in the rubbish again.

We’ve also had to visit a few government departments - Centrelink (it’s like social services), what a pleasure. A government department where you actually can understand everything a person is saying., and no one says “eish’. The bonus was, is that because of Rebecca we received a $1000 childcare benefit. Can you believe it… and we have just arrived. Ok, it took a little while to provide and confirm our details… but really not all that bad.

The best govt. department was by far, the tax office… yes you read right, and if tax conjures up thoughts of SARS, well then you’re clearly in the wrong country. Everything was simple. No forms to fill in, the receptionist just leads you to a computer and you load your own info in… No worries… and it’s all done… we kept waiting for the catch… but none…

I must also mention that going into the city is always such a wonderful experience. Catching the bus has become more familiar as well as digging out the correct bus fare. Initially we used to fumble around looking for the correct fare… holding up the rest of the bus goers… but now, we’re ok… we only look like tourists, but we don’t act like them!

The girls have also gone to the local Zoo, and I still don’t know how I got us there, especially with Rebecca saying uh-uh mom… you’re lost, we need to get the map book from Dad… I also cannot begin to explain the relief when I saw the Zoo entrance… felt like doing the ‘I told you so’ thing, but then realized that I was the mom, and not the child.

The Zoo was a big highlight… for any Australian… yip! We got to see Lion, Giraffe, Meerkats, Hippo, Leopard… you name it boy… we saw all the African animals… eventually we spotted a sleeping kangaroo, and a sleeping koala… By the way for those that think you see Kangaroo’s around the suburbs, it’s like the equivalent to South Africans having Lion in their back yard.

Mid week, we went up to visit with Aussie Bob, and his wife Ginnie. Well, we actually went to pick up Mitsi. (Mitsi is our new addition to the family. A rather sporty looking, 1989 Hatchback Mitsubishi Colt… at least we won’t have to carry anymore frying pans or washing baskets from the shops). So we arrive at Bob’s farm and we get invited for tea… I know Bob’s going to chuckle when he reads this, but I kept wondering if true-blue Aussies ate kangaroo for supper…. Thank goodness, we ate normal food, that was wonderfully cooked on a very hot BBQ… topped with a lovely glass of wine, great hospitality and awesome conversation! Bob also took us for walk around a part of his farm, showed us some tea tree’s, rain water tanks and pointed out his sheep.

Bern says ‘Hey Bob! You’ve got sheep!!!’ Bob says… ‘I know what you’re getting at mate’!!!

We managed to make it safely back from Bob’s with the help of our Garmin Sat Nav… it was quite late and very dark, and poor Bern had to make his way home without any Aussie driving experience. Let’s just say we were glad when we finally arrived home.

The Highlight of the week for Bern, I am sure was ordering our bicycles. We had to go far cheaper than we were initially going to go, but finances dictated, and emotions had to take the back seat. After concluding business, we set about taking dear ‘Mitsi’ for a drive. What a blast, up past Windy Point, slight detour and then on to Hahndorf. Hahndorf is a spectacular town… you get the impression of the Natal Midlands… mixed with Aussie souvenirs.

When we got home we promised Rebecca that she could take her new bike for a ride, and this is the part that made me really remember why we went through all the hassle of getting over here… we took Rebecca to the local park. With her new bike, and her luminescent pink helmet she was on her way… and I sat in awe… People playing cricket, families picnicking, all in complete safety, on a Saturday afternoon just before supper time. This was the same on the Sunday too… just packed!

Slowly but surely we are gaining some confidence back, and aren’t feeling like such ‘chops’ whenever we ask a stupid question. Things don’t seem to be as foreign, although I reckon we stick out like ‘Dutchmen’… (yes, us Natal folk have been called Dutchies).

We’ve done a trip to the beachfront area, caught buses and trams. Walked along the river, and walked some more, Laughed and got lost, felt out of place, but felt at home, shopped for silly things, and shopped some more… and every day felt completely inspired… Welcome to Australia… Let’s see what the new week brings….

Oh, Red, I could only sigh - and long for such a life ! Thanks for your lovely posts, I'll look out for more from you ...