IELTS and "Appostille"

1) I phoned the British Council in South Africa today and they said they cannot book a date for the general IELTS for me because all their known test dates in johannesburg are fully booked, end of story. They only have space available for the academic IELTS. They say that for the general IELTS I would have to wait untill next year. My question is this: If i write the academic IELTS would that then definitely be good enough in cases where only a general IELTS result is required? I am an electrical engineer applying for a 136 visa from south africa.

2) Has anybody written the academic IELTS and do you think it is much more difficult than the general one?

3) Regarding certification of documents. I was told by a lawyer who often works with immigration applications that documents often need to be certified for international recognition by obtaining an "apostille". I see on internet that this is the way countries recognise each other's certification if they are part of the Hague convention. (Both SA and Australia are part of this) Has anybody come across this requirement? I have allready sent away my application for assessment of my qualifications without an apostille....

Any feedback or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Werner

:)

1) My question is this: If i write the academic IELTS would that then definitely be good enough in cases where only a general IELTS result is required?

3) Regarding certification of documents. I was told by a lawyer who often works with immigration applications that documents often need to be certified for international recognition by obtaining an "apostille".

Hi Werner

The IELTS (General) test was the biggest waste of time I've had the misfortune to endure in my entire life! Scored 90% and my home language is Afrikaans. Not sure how much different the Academic test is from the General test, but I'm sure it would also be valid for your purposes.