Subclass 190 (Migration agent) vs. Sublcass 457 (Job placement agent)

thedreamer

Hi all

I am fairly new to this Australian immigration thing and would appreciate some advice. I have done some homework and I am currently stuck with a dilemma.

How does I go about choosing between a migration agent who recommends a subclass 190 visa and a placement company who tries to find you employment and then arranges a subclass 457 visa.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

FIRSTLY:

I was recently reading about a scam company that promises you a job then takes you money and runs, NO company can promise you a job, it doesn't work like that be REAAAAALY careful, ask advice here before handing over $$$$$, same goes for agents.

Im not an agent this is my take on it, but should give you an idea of the diffs, im in auz on a 457 visa.

This is from a chat i was having with someone else and is a bit of an overview, others feel free to chime in:

PR VISA

Pro:

You arrive as a resident, get healthcare, unemployment benefits, MUCH cheaper schooling (Which is not in my costs as we don't have kids yet), lots of handouts from the government until you are up and running, if you not earning a great salary the government gives you lots of rebates, once you have it you can do an activation trip and then take some time to sell up and move over.

Cons:

Very expensive (Especially in Rands), takes a long time to get (some peeps have been waiting 5+ years).

Pro:

We didnt pay anything at all the sponsoring company paid the visa, agent, plane tickets, car rental when we arrived, temp accommodation till we found our own pace, i had a job when i arrived and was earning a salary.