SA shop, boerewors & koeksisters In Brisbane

arabella164

1. The is a butcher next to the Woolworths in Carindale Centre. A sign says that boerewors is available and also "lekker koeksisters hier beskikbaar". I have not tried them.

2. Great boerewors and South African style cuts of meat can be found at Country Butcher on Gowan Road. The is a large SA community in the area and one of the local South Africans sent this butcher to SA for "training" to learn how to cut meat SA style and how to make boerewors.

Country Butcher - Sunnybank Hills

168 Gowan Road

Sunnybank Hills, QLD 4109

Phone: 07 34237355

3. Global Convenience store is run by a man from Pretoria. Has eveything you can think of - Maynard's wine gums, calling cards, Indian spices, Ouma rusks, Sparletta Creme Soda etc.

Global Convenience

1307 Beenleigh Rd

Kuraby, QLD 4112

Phone: (07) 3219 0997

• 1 year later...
1. The is a butcher next to the Woolworths in Carindale Centre. A sign says that boerewors is available and also "lekker koeksisters hier beskikbaar". I have not tried them.

2. Great boerewors and South African style cuts of meat can be found at Country Butcher on Gowan Road. The is a large SA community in the area and one of the local South Africans sent this butcher to SA for "training" to learn how to cut meat SA style and how to make boerewors.

Thanks Mohammedm, I have heard this butcher is good and keep meaning to go down there, but we live in the north and have been looking for a boerewors butcher closer. Pick & pay sell wors but its not that great. There is one on Rode Rd west of the Prince Charles hospital. Very good but he puts tomato and brandy in it.

I believe there is one in Brendale on Kremzow Road that makes a traditional one but have not tried his yet.

We have made out own but unless you eat a lot of it, it is hard work!

Any other ideas?

Edited by LeeInOz

Pick & pay sell wors but its not that great.

You have a P n P in QLD? Thats cool. Is it the same is the ones in South Africa? or just the same name?

Hi Jordy

About the P & P in Brisbane North, no, it is not the same as the SA one, it is just the name. Originally when it was started, many many years ago, it was started by the SA Group. However, with the anti SA feeling at the time, it had a real hard time, from all sides, and eventually they decided it was just not worth it and decided to sell out to Safeway/Woolworths, however, as a sign of protest, they made it a condition of the sale that the name could not be changed, so......that is why it is still called Pick 'n Pay! (We met the guy who was sent out to manage it from day one until it was sold)

Hi Jordy

About the P & P in Brisbane North, no, it is not the same as the SA one, it is just the name. Originally when it was started, many many years ago, it was started by the SA Group. However, with the anti SA feeling at the time, it had a real hard time, from all sides, and eventually they decided it was just not worth it and decided to sell out to Safeway/Woolworths, however, as a sign of protest, they made it a condition of the sale that the name could not be changed, so......that is why it is still called Pick 'n Pay! (We met the guy who was sent out to manage it from day one until it was sold)

Its actually owned by Coles Myer (the Coles KMart holding group (the one in Aspley anyway) not Woolworths and hold more than just a Coles does. It is huge with high roofs and very wide isles. An Aussie I work with says it was a great store and he went there often when it was South African, but now just like the rest. In the same shop there is a K Mart type shop. there are a few other shops there that sell South African stuff or are owned by South Africans. Pick n Pay own Franklins which is a small supermarket franchise. There are also lots of SPAR in QLD, but I hear they are all Australian owned even though they have teh same logo.

Selling the name means they can never reopen in Australia as Pick n Pay so is a good defensive tactic to kill the competition by Coles.

Woolworths owns Dick Smiths Dan Murphy Big W Safeway Fridge and several others

Coles Myers owns Target K Mart Bi Lo and many hotels, but has been bought a few years ago by Wesfarmers who owns Bunnings Office Works

each also own other outlets for tyres furniture etc so there are only 2 big companies

Anyway I digress. Boerewors in Brisbane North suburbs? :blink:

You have a P n P in QLD? Thats cool. Is it the same is the ones in South Africa? or just the same name?

I wondered the same thing...

Hi All

The butcher in Carindale is called Fitzsimmons Meats Phone: 3398 9796

It is owned by South Africans and they make the greatest Boerewors ever. We travel from the North Side of Brissie to go and buy boerewors, koeksisters, melktert, biltong (beef and game and chilli bites), droewors, Mrs Balls chutney and all the nice things we like to eat with a braai. I can really recommend them, and you are guarenteed to bump into other Saffers there. They even make a Blue Bull Steak on order so I included the contact number for them.

Ciao

Hi All

The butcher in Carindale is called Fitzsimmons Meats Phone: 3398 9796

It is owned by South Africans and they make the greatest Boerewors ever.

Ciao

We went on a butcher search today in the north and went to Terry Orreal in Brendale. They make a great wors (tested it tonight). They sell silverside unsalted(hard to find) that is not corned so I am making biltong this weekend. His wors is made into short sausages.

We also went to Dayboro 35 km or so north to the Famous Sausage Man. Tiny butcher who was sold out of Boeri but had a huge range of sausages. Pork ones that look like Escort (will test tommorow morning) Beef Black Peeper tomato which won an award this year.

Hi

I buy from Springbok Foods. they are on the Gold Coast, but deliver to parts of Brisbane. Their website is http://www.springbokfoods.com/

I got an order today, delivery charge was $6.60 Most of the biltong I ordered was for fellow Aussies at work!

Susan