New Member Looking to be educated

Tony99

Good Day All

I'm from Pretoria, married with 2 kids and the wife and I have recently decided to pursue emigration to Australia. My profession is Internal Audit and coupled with that I've got experience in Compliance and Risk Management as well. I've attended 1 seminar thus far and I'm planning on consulting with another agent in the near future to gain more insight into what sounds like an arduous and costly exercise. I am hoping that some of the forum members can advise me either for or against agents that I could possibly use for the visa application process, or at least point me to an informative discussion which already exists on the forum.

Looking forward to learn a lot from your experiences.

There are those who are for and those who are against making use of an agent. The general consensus is that if your case is straight forward, and you are willing to put in the time and effort you can save heaps on agent fees. Once you know what to do the process is pretty straight forward. We did it without an agent, spent many evenings doing research online and on forums. It does take time doing your research and it is important that you know where you are in the process and what to do next. If however you feel you are not up to it, or you have a slightly more complex situation (ie. work experience, medical issues, past criminal convictions etc) then you may be better off going with an agent. An agent can give you a good indication of what is possible and what you will be required to do to achieve this. Remember you are paying the agent for their expertise, not to run around collecting your documents. So either way you are still going to have quite a bit of admin ahead. Documents such as your Birth and Marriage certificates from Home Affairs need to be obtained. This is something that put us back quite a few months. There are a few good threads on the forum, can't remember all of them, but spend some time browsing the site.