189 or 190 Visa?

JAYandANT

Question

Hi All,

I am very new to this but my wife and I have finally made the decision to go ahead with this process and make the move (if Visa application Successful)

At this stage we do not have surplus funds to go through an agent so want to first try go it alone - hence the reason for my question:

I have 2 possible Occupations that I could apply for (Both VETASSESS):

- 1 Is on the latest 189 list Skilled Independent list (224711)

- 1 is on the latest 190 Skilled Nominated List (224712)

The occupation on the 190 list (224712) is probably a better fit to my experience than the 189 (even though they are very similar and are basically grouped together when I study the classification for the Skills ), but I have heard that 190 Visas are more difficult to get as they are sponsored and need to be state specific.... So which should I go for? (Keeping in mind we want to try go through this process WITHOUT an immigration consultant - who we understand can facilitate the 190 process easier than if we do it alone?)

Any advice would be great - thank you 

Jason

7 answers to this question

When making the application, you can apply for a 189 and a 190 at the same time.

Generally speaking, it's pretty tough to get into Australia at the moment for most people due to high point requirements. Therefore most people also opt for the 190.

In order to get the answers to your question:

• Find out what points you qualify for. Highly recommended to get a migration agent to verify this as you don't want to go all the way through with an application, only to be rejected because you claimed points which you cannot back up with evidence.
  • Find out on what points people get invited for your occupation and points, and how long they wait for an invitation. There's a huge difference between the minimum points required to apply, and whether you'll get / when you'll get an invitation.