The First Step (Genesis) - Advise needed!

Tahlia

Question

Hi Guys,

This is my very very fist post!

I visited Aus from June to August 2018, I have worked and traveled the country. I also have my sister and her husband who have PR in Aus since 2017.

I will jump into my questions and will not bore you with long stories :)

I'd like to apply for PR in Aus. Herewith my questions, any advise will be very much appreciated.

Summary: My job description is on the temporary skilled list (Interior Architect). And my boyfriend is on the permanent skilled list (Accountant).  I have been working since 2008 and he has been working for about 15 years as an accountant. We both have BSc Degrees.

Questions:

1. Do we try to apply for visas by ourselves to save on the high cost of agents? I know people who had done and succeeded in applying and obtaining the visas themselves. Is this advisable?

2. Is it better to go through an agent? I heard they just 'guide' what you must do, but you have do physically do everything?  Or is it just less stressful with an agent? These agents don't help find jobs right? They just help with getting the visa?

3. Better to get a job first? Then the job can sponsor a visa? How easy or likely is this?

Your comments are appreciated!

Many thanks!

Tahlia

19 answers to this question

12 hours ago, Tahlia said:

Questions:

1. Do we try to apply for visas by ourselves to save on the high cost of agents? I know people who had done and succeeded in applying and obtaining the visas themselves. Is this advisable?

I did it myself. You have to do a lot of homework yourself to find out what needs to be done. If your case is "clear cut", i.e. no funnies you can easily do it yourself. Where the agents come in handy is with more challenging circumstances - they typically know the immigration law and thus can give you advice around what is best for your situation.