C++ Developer looking for a position in Sydney

CharlesH

C++ Developer looking for a position in Sydney. I have 17 years experience with Visual C++.  Please let me know if there are any leads/positions you know of.  I have a 189 PR Visa and I am currently in Sydney.

• 1 month later...

So there appears to be quite a bit of competition in C++ and most companies seem to require skills that I don't have.  I have been searching for a job going on three months with no success.  Fortunately I am still employed by my previous company but it is a temporary arrangement and places me at a disadvantage financially due to the AUD/ZAR exchange rate.

I have applied to many positions and been to a number of interviews (must be more than ten or twelve) and still no success.  Feedback is always that they found someone more suitable for the role or I don't have suitable experience.  I have started looking at up-skilling myself in C# asp.net (MVC, Web API etc) but realistically I don't know if this is the best course for a 40 plus year old. 

An alternative is to go back to RSA and get my old job but that is not an option, I want to stay here at all costs. 

Any other tips or suggestions?  Possibly consider a career change?  I am prepared to do anything to stay in this amazing country but realistically I have a family to support.

1 hour ago, CharlesH said:

I want to stay here at all costs

Your own statement sounds to me like you need to upskill.

1 hour ago, CharlesH said:

I don't know if this is the best course for a 40 plus year old.

You have to be willing to adjust your skills to meet the market and if that's what's required then that's what you have to do. I think you'll find that saying that you are currently studying will help your cv as it shows that you are adaptable to change.  Also if you do a face-to-face evening course you'll meet people from the industry where you're more likely to hear about "off market" vacancies.