Tax submission and formal immigration

fredk

Hi all

Will try to make my questions short and simple:

1. I am still a tax resident in SA, having moved to Aus only a couple of months ago. I know I have to declare my Aus income and taxes, but where on eFiling does this happen? Should I just create an additional IRP5? Would SARS know my Aus taxes was not paid to them, but was paid to the ATO?

2. I havent updated my place of residence with my bank (Standard Bank) or with SARS yet. Is this simple to do?

3. I dont have anything (cash, assets, RA’s) left in SA. I want to deregister from SARS going forward. Do I need to do formal financial emigration or can I deregister from SARS without that?

Thanks

7 minutes ago, fredk said:

1. I am still a tax resident in SA, having moved to Aus only a couple of months ago.

Reply: not so easy! You tax non-resident in SA as of the day you become ATO tax resident paying tax on ww income. If you on PR its the day you arrived in Oz. On work permit you may indeed be tax resident. Note below you said no SA situs assets ao I ignore treaty tie breakers

I know I have to declare my Aus income and taxes, but where on eFiling does this happen?

Reply: not if you tax non resident but sars do ask what SA sourced income now taxed in Oz

7 minutes ago, fredk said:

Should I just create an additional IRP5?

Reply: no

Would SARS know my Aus taxes was not paid to them, but was paid to the ATO?

reply: no you need to claim and submit proof thereof plus add TRC (tax residency certificate) if already obtainable at tax filing date

2. I havent updated my place of residence with my bank (Standard Bank) or with SARS yet. Is this simple to do?

reply: penalty for not doing varies between R5m and R10m. Do at banks and SARS and if you tax resident Oz ask them to update their CRS info ATO no. CRS - common reporting standard self declaration on tax status

3. I dont have anything (cash, assets, RA’s) left in SA.