Costs for immigrating..?

LynnS

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie on here and we are right at the beginning of the decision-making process- thank you to everyone for the loads of info shared. 

Please could someone share a breakdown of the estimated costs from start to leaving SA.  This will give us a good idea of what it would cost us to make the move and if it is financially feasible for us.   It would also be very helpful to get an idea of start up costs once we get there.  (We have no idea which city yet.)

Thanks to everyone on advance!

hi @LynnS, this is a quick breakdown: (I am sure someone will give you much more detail)

Migration Agent = R30k

English test, EOI Cost, Visa costs = R80k - R100k

moving -   R80k -R100k for 20 foot container minimum,

flights etc R10 - R15 per person depending on specials  and route you take

some "hidden cost" to consider:

tax on Prov funds when you withdraw

accommodation first 2 -3 weeks when you get there (Airbnb?) (R20k...)
Car rental first week or 2 (R10K??)

2 hours ago, LM17 said:

hi @LynnS, this is a quick breakdown: (I am sure someone will give you much more detail)

Migration Agent = R30k

That's pretty accurate.

We're using a Movecube ar R25k (2.2m x 1.4m x 1.8m). Leaving furniture behind.

Deposit on Rental between R30k & R40k.

Fairly decent used car R80k to R100k.

• Like 1

You can also save the agents fees and do the application yourself - it depends on how straight forward your application is.

• Like 2

A LSD trip is not a have to though. Many have gotten the visas without stepping foot in oz. 

4 hours ago, TamTam said:

A LSD trip is not a have to though. Many have gotten the visas without stepping foot in oz. 

Agreed, we did a LSD and it doesn't do much to prepare a person. Problem with a LSD trip is that you are in holiday mode. You only get a real feel for a place once you live or work there. 

• Like 3

9 hours ago, vitchie said: