Finding work as an older bloke

SAman4Aus

After working many years in Australia I had to return to South Africa for personal reasons. Three years on and my personal situation has changed and for various reasons I am ready to return to Australia.

I am 54 years old, worked in IT for 28 years including as an IT Project Manager for the past 16 years. I have a relevant degree, certifications (pmp, prince2), loads of experience, Ausy work references, well presented CV and I am an Ausy citizen. Finding a job in Aus should then be a breeze…….or will it? J

My question for the ol’ topies living in Aus:  Will my age count against me when looking for work in Aus? I know age discrimination is illegal in Aus but….unofficially?  I experienced it in South Africa – “sorry but you have too much experience for this position” I.e. your too old!  I won’t even mention the BEE challenges for a white ‘old’ male in South Africa.

I am fully aware I need to be in Aus when looking for work,  so I am considering jetting off to Sydney/Melbourne for 2 or 3 months in an attempt to find a job. An expensive and risky step, but then, life is full of sacrifices.

Soooo, what are my chances as a 50+ bloke landing an interview? Is there an even playing field with a younger candidate with good experience or will my age influence an employment agent (who are mostly 18 years old) towards a younger candidate whilst he or she quietly discards my CV to the bin?

My experience, my industry: