Migrating without a job

Carl

Hi

Ever since April this year I've been thinking to migrate but haven't put in a lot of effort yet except for reading.

I am eligible for a 189 PR Visa as I'm a Mechanical Engineer with approximately 5 years experience in both Chemical and Power Generation industries.

If I get the maximum points for the IELTS I will be having 70 points with the possibility to increase this to 75 next year April.

The whole process of leaving everything behind like a decent job, properties and then most important your family is something that we still need to overcome.

However every time when there are increased political instability or crime I just know the move will be for the best.

I've also appointed Migrate2Oz as my migration agent and currently I'm busy compiling my work experience documentation.

What I actually would like to find out is it worth it to migrate without a job and how do select which state?

Also how long would it generally take to get a decent job with a good salary?

Regards 

Carl

Q1. As @Mara says, follow the jobs. Check out www.seek.com.au to see where they are.

The East coast with Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane within easy flying time of each other has ~ 75% of the countries population. Hence that’s where most of the jobs are for engineers. WA used to be great for engineers but the mining industry went off the boil when China slowed down.

Sydney is one of the most expensive cities in the world because it is beautiful, weather is great and a decent form of sport is played (not aerial ping pong). You will burn through your cash very quickly there. Melbourne is cheaper, but weather can get you down. Brisbane we don’t talk about because of something called “State of Origin”.

It doesn’t take long to get a job if you’re flexible, you say the right things and have an attitude that Aussies like.