So how is everyone in Canberra doing?

BrendanH

This has been a quiet section of the forum - so just checking how everyone is doing?

Hi Brendan. My wife and I are landing in Canberra on the 3rd of September. Can't wait!

Welcome! Canberra is a great little town and September has some great weather. What do the two of you do for work?

If you have any questions feel free to ask.

@BrendanH My wife is a teacher and I'm a political science researcher. We're both pretty unfulfilled in our careers in SA and open to any new opportunities in Aus. We thought Canberra would be a good place to 'land' because it's relatively central on the East coast, relatively small compared to the Australian megacities, and relatively easy to navigate (by the looks of things). Probably not the best job market for an immigrant, though.

• 5 weeks later...

Welcome @HonestPiney!

My wife is a primary school teacher and found work very easily.  No idea about job prospects for you though.  

Bear in mind that Canberra is about 2 to 3 hours drive from the coast.  Yes, extremely easy to navigate, with very little traffic and an excellent road infrastructure.  You'll be glad you are arriving in September, the winters here are really cold, but I'm sure you have researched that.

All the best!

• 4 weeks later...
On 7/13/2017 at 11:30 PM, HonestPiney said:

My wife and I are landing in Canberra on the 3rd of September. Can't wait!

You must have just arrived? Hope you are finding your feet OK. Today it seems like spring has left again, but I'm sure it will be back.

• 3 weeks later...