Child Visa 101

Ray2013

Hi All, Just a quick question. Has anyone done the child visa 101 without using an agent? 

Hi @Ray2013, i am just waiting for my boy's passport then we will start with child visa 101 without an agent.

I have another thread running on this topic and i believe @niro went through the process. I dont know how to reference my thread from here still very new. Its in this forum under the topic "child visa".

I asked the agent for a quoye and i got R60k as an answer. That made my mind up to go withoit an agent.

Its mostly online but you do have to do police clearances for the parents and medicals for the little one.

CableThief

Hi @CableThief, Lol I am new at this too. 

Will search for your thread and follow. I am now trying to sit with the paperwork and work it through as my stepson has all necessary docs and we have pcc for both countries on hand as well.

Ray 2013

We paid around R25000 for a child visa in Feb this year, not sure if the costs changed significantly in the last 7 months, but its not difficult to apply without an agent. I would recommend you first try to apply on your own.  

The only obstacle we had, was that we had to apply for our police clearance a second time, even though its not stipulated in the application forms that the parents have to apply for police clearance again.  There was a 3 month delay in getting the police clearance from our "wonderful" police department, it delayed my daughter's visa application and we had to reschedule our flights.

Thanks Scarlette, yes the fee is about $2370. Was your police clearance expired? I applied again last march so it expired this year and not sure if I should try and submit the SAP one as I have a Federal Police Clearance as well. 

51 minutes ago, Ray2013 said:

yes the fee is about $2370

I wonder why its that high?  A child visa as part of a 189 visa is $800 IIRC.  Maybe because they have to re-assess the police clearance etc vs it being another visa on a bulk application.