Hi All,

I have been in contact with a few AMAZING SAAus members who have been so helpful, but I thought I would open these question up to all teachers in an attempt not to overload those awesome SAAus members with a million questions :)

I have a BCom degree and am busy with my PGCE (Foundation Phase and Early Childhood Development) through Unisa. On the AITSL application form it states "Study assessed by AITSL as comparable to at least four years full-time (or part-time equivalent) higher education (university) level study in Australia, that results in a qualification/s comparable to the educational level of an Australian bachelor degree or higher." Now my question is, would a Bachelor's degree in SA (which is three years) be the same as a Australian Bachelor?

Then the next section states (I'm sure you've all read this numerous times, but I will paste it anyways)

"An initial teacher education qualification relevant to the Early Childhood (Pre-primary School) teacher occupation of at least one year full-time study (or part time equivalent) at the higher education (university) level that includes a minimum of 45 days of supervised teaching practice with students across the ages of 3 and 8 in education programs prior to and in to the early years of primary school." Like I said I'm doing my PGCE (FDP & ECD) through Unisa. Will I need to get practical experience through both a primary school (Grade R - 3) and a childcare center for ages 3 - 5? The teaching prac for the PGCE only covers primary school from what I've been told.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I want to make sure that I do everything correctly so that I don't hit any huge speed bumps when application time arrives.

Thanks!!

Robyn

I can't say for sure Robyn so hopefully you get more replies, but I can tell you that I'm doing a bachelor degree full-time in Aus & it's 3 years. So...?

Hey Robyn