Question about skills assessment

seabassvg

Hi guys

Quick query about assessment. I have to have my architecture degree assessed by AACA. An agent mentioned to me that the South African architecture degrees have struggled to get passed. I am not sure what universities they have had experience with (does not sound like much), but are there any architects on the forum who could shed some light on the subject. Do we have a credible degree?

I will submit the forms anyway, as this is the only option to really know.

• 3 weeks later...

Hi Seabassvg,

Any news on your skills assessment from the AACA?

I am an architect and would like to know if anyone else had any success in accrediting their South African architecture degree, before I pay the AACA their $AU1050 assessment fee.

I spoke to a migration agent today, and he sidestepped all my questions about whether they have successfully assisted any architects with immigration to Australia.

I specifically asked him about the success rate for the skills assessment for architects – but no luck.

Your reply would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Hi Dave05 I am sending the application tomorrow, but it will be some time before I get any feedback.

I also asked an agent and he was not so confident, but confessed that they did not have too much experience with architects, then again it is a case by case assessment and I think it also depends on the University (I went to UCT). A friend of mine had no problem with his BArch degree from UCT about 3/4 years ago. I have thought about this quite a bit, and it is my only option in order to get the ball rolling, so I will have to take the risk.

I will update my status once I have heard anything from them.