Sydney Or Brisbane

SAman4Aus

I currently live in Sydney and have an opportunity to work and live in Brisbane. (I am an IT manager). We don’t have kids and also rather enjoy living in Sydney. It’s vibrant and there’s always something going on. The job in Brisbane is a position I would like to pursue and hence the uncertainty of making the move.

I would like to get some opinions on the benefits and downside to living in Brisbane as opposed to living in Sydney.

My 'issue' with Sydney is the cost of housing and we are now looking at buying a property and also the mostly poor public transport.

We are in our 40’s and enjoy the coffee shop, restaurant and after work pub life.

I lived in Brisbane and in Sydney..... I prefer Brisbane. The winters aren't as harsh and the summers aren't as warm, seriously Sydney was hotter than Brissy.

I loved Sydney let me make this clear. We met some fantastic people, saw the beautiful City and surrounds, to be honest I think NSW is more beautiful nature wise than Queensland, but allas I'm a Queenslander at heart and now live in the Whitsundays!! Lucky me.

As with Nilo, I have lived in both Sydney and Brisbane. But I would choose Sydney hands down any day of the year!

It really does depend on where you live in Sydney and what you're into. Hubby and I were on the Northern Beaches where we absolutely loved our lifestyle and lived it the absolute fullest. We often went into the city for days/nights out. Sydney has a vibe and is exciting. The Bridge, Opera House, the Rocks markets, Darling Harbour - the whole city is iconic! We also don't have kids and are in our late 30's. We also enjoy a similar lifestyle - cafe's, restaurants, Friday arvo drinks, live music, theatre. And you think Sydney's public transport is bad? Now that really does depend on where you live.