Highs, lows, hurdles and Hope!

Wannagonow

I'm new to this, and I don’t just mean the whole emigration thing, but also blogging/writing… sharing ones thoughts and feelings on the internet.

I need to rant a little, share my feelings and frustrations, get some advice, so here goes nothing….

My OH and I decided quite out of the blue that it would be a great idea to emigrate! When I say out of the blue, I think that really the frustration of living in SA surrounded by the poverty, the injustice, the lawlessness and corruption that we take to be ‘normal’ was always there, simmering, waiting to explode. Every day I find myself staring at the situations unfolding around me, hearing things on the news and I get that hollow feeling of ‘how will this all end up, what am I doing here, how can I let my kids live here?’

Anyway once we had started talking about emigrating it didn't take long for us to decide we want to do this, and quickly. I started researching, found this blog (one of the best resources so far), scoured the Ausie Immi website, started gathering all my docs and even getting past employers references. We talked to my OH parents (we are very close to them, my parents not really, I also work for my father so cant tell him until we are 100% go, might be fired!) and they are really sad but understand, even said they might join us! It was all looking so exciting, we were grinning at each other all the time, knowing what we were doing is right! All this started early November, I can’t believe how time has flown! Well its all come crashing down!