Is cost of living really that high in Aus

Pietnaude

Hi Everyone.

So, after hearing a lot about how expensive Aus is I gave it some thought and read a few posts and articles regarding cost of living in Aus. Initially I thought there's no way we would make it there financially but after laying awake for nights on end I gave it some thought and came up with the following questions / ideas and would really appreciate it if someone could respond to this as I am sure I am not the only one who has done these analysis (If you could call it that, I'm no accountant ;))

We are a family of 4 (two kids aged 5 and 10 and then myself + wife) and are in the middle to higher income bracket. that said, we still have to look at our budget and cannot spend a s we wish and find that SA became VERY expensive for the middle to higher income bracket people due to the fact that we have to pay for those who can't. so, lets look at a few comparisons between SA and Aus.

Electricity / water: Due to the shortage we pay premium rates for this and it's about to become even more expensive very soon. Eskom simply can't cope and there are a lot of people who get theirs free of charge. we pay around R4000-00 p/m for water and electricity. It is my believe that these costs in Aus are MUCH lower than here.

Tax: Our tax rates (Especially on middle to higher income groups are really high in comparison to those in Aus.

Schooling: I think this is pretty much on par with Aus. Our government schools are cheap and private schools are really expensive. I think the only difference is the fact that Aus's government schools are of a much higher standard but lets not get into that now.

Transport: Cars are really expensive in SA and let's be honest, you really need one. In Aus they have public transport and although it's not cheap, I really think it is more affordable than a car here is SA if you take into account the service charges and insurance (Which is high due to our crime stats). Cars are also way cheaper top buy in Aus.

Interest on houses / cars: Interest rates in Aus are much lower than here when buying things like cars and houses. I'm not sure how much normal taxes are on things like groceries but I bet it is lower than here.

My point is simply that SA is getting VERY expensive Very quickly for the higher income group and we are getting less in comparison with other countries where the COL (Cost of living) is very similar. Would love to hear everyone else's input on this. There is no doubt in my mind that Aus is expensive (Especially in the big cities) but I really think if you are prepared to live 50km+ outside of the city, you can live a decent life for the same money as in SA. That's obviously comparing apples with Apples. I know the sky is the limit and everything comes at a price.

Oh, and then there is the medical aid which I forgot about. We are paying R6000+ p/m for a family of 4 and then the benefits are exhausted by Sept (both my boys go for ocupational therapy as the schools just cant cope) which means that I must pay a self payment gap of around R6000 before they cover anything again except in hospital costs of course. This is brings us to a minimum of R60k per year just for medical aid. I believe this is much cheaper in Aus....

Hi Piet, YES cost of living in Australia is very high!! Some people would say that a family of 4 can survive on $85k pa but I would like to see that!! That being said, obviously you would earn more in Australia with the R/AUS exchange rate. I reckon the correct way of looking at these expenses is to express it as a % of your income. You'll also notice that life insurance (if you're not a smoker) is also relatively cheap. However, the cost of labour (ie tradies) is extremely expensive!! So it's a big drawback if you're not good with your hands - like me. Houses are also really expensive - especially here in Perth!! A decent house far from the city can be anything from $550k + and closer to the city $850+. So yes, Australia is very expensive but this is the price you pay for safety and better work opportunities.

Hi Boschx2. Yes, i understand and ther's no doubt in my mind that it is expensive. i'm just trying to compare the situation rather than the exact figures. I understand it's all relative but I still think sA is getting rediculously expensive and you get alot less bang for your buck.

Yes of course - in what line of work are you in?? And more importantly, where in Australia do you want to settle in?

I am in engineering and my wife is a tax accountant. The idea is that she stays at home looking after the kids but yes, the finance thing is something we'd have to think about. We want to settle in Perth but it seems there is more work in Melbourne. We will hopefully do our visit in March or April next year and take it from there. Were still waiting on the good news........

Pietnaude, if you are going to be earning a good salary, then I would not worry about the rest.

You know things are relative, when it comes to costs. What is highly necessary to one couple does not even show on the radar of another. If you want to eat out every other day, put your children in private schools, drive the latest vehicle, live in the costliest suburb, YOU ARE GOING TO NEED BIG BUCKS!

However, if you are of the average Joe type, where eating out is a treat, your children go to good government schools, you are happy using public transport and driving a good second hand car, and stay a little further out but still in a good suburb, then my friend, Australia can do that for you and you will be free and much safer than in South Africa!

I am glad that you mentioned that you would like to go to Perth but that you see there are more jobs in Melbourne.. Go where the jobs are, that is always my mantra!

Good luck with your decisions... You have jumped the first hurdle... by asking questions here... you will get lots of answers !!!

Transport:

Second hand some cars appear to be cheaper and some are much more expensive, for example BMW and Volvo is much more expensive here.

(We sold our 2006 BMW for R105k in SA to buy it here would have been around $20k)

Petrol is about the same price per L.

Top private schools here are way more expensive than SA - R60k/pa vs $30k/pa (Comparing two "top" girl schools in CPT and Sydney)

Government schools I believe depend on the area you are in - same as SA. That being said, the worst school here should be much better than the worst school in SA! :)

Hi Piet Naude

I pay around 250$ a month on electricity and about 70-90 every 2 months for water. Thats so mych cheaper than SA, and Im comparing 2010 SA rates to 2014 Aussies rates! Care are cheaper and in better condition on average, but the german brands you will pay more for. (I only drive german now)

Homes, as Mara and Tiermelk said, you are going to pay for what you want. Medical when I left SA in 2010 was 8K a month, here I pay 449 and get better benefits that we have not managed to exhaust. (We are a herd of 5)

In total, i find Aus to be cheaper if you factor in the quality of goods and services. For eg, i order stuff from the US and its here in 2-5 days. Good luck trying that in SA. The shipping cost was $8. From the east coast its usually 2-3 days. Its like any country, you can spend from mild to wild.

Oh and by the way, you will make it dude, thousands of others have!

Thanks to everyone for the replies. Now I just need to pass the IELTS test on Saturday and things can really start rolling. I'm sooooo stressed out. I'm a real boertjie and not much of a talker so the speech test is the one I fear the most.

Well yes, we are the average family that just want a decent and safe life on an average salary. We are VERY independant here in SA when it comes to finances and we are living a good life. The reason for leaving is purely our kids. I'd like them to get a good education that is recognised accross the world and be able to get a job after they've studied. The secondary reason is the same as for everybody else...... Crime, bad service delivery etc etc.... The list goes on. I will keep you guys in touch on how it went. Thanks again for all the replies.

You are welcome Piet, that is what we are here for, paying it forward! Best of luck for the dreaded test on Saturday, practice, practice, practice, until then!

Yip,

Mara is bang on. I earned 6 figures a month AFTER tax in SA and that was not enough nor did the services improve, or crime drop because of it. Just get to Aus already!!! :jester:

And dont worry about the speaking, my wife dies when she has to speak in public or to a stranger and she nailed it.

Thanks to everyone for the replies. Now I just need to pass the IELTS test on Saturday and things can really start rolling. I'm sooooo stressed out. I'm a real boertjie and not much of a talker so the speech test is the one I fear the most.

Piet, imagine the IELTS test is going to be marked by a real posh British person in England who has never been to South Africa. If you were speaking to such a person, say on holiday to London, then you would not use slang words like bakkie, braai, takkies, robots etc etc because they simply wouldnt understand them. So use "international" words like barbeque, utility vehicle (bakkie), traffic lights etc. ie I suggest avoiding using Souf Efriken slang in the speech test and you will find you will score a better mark.

I have yet to meet an engineer (BSC) from SA earning less than $110k in Perth, that is mostly for junior *young* engineers. The workplace in Perth is also very accommodating for families and lots of opportunities for your wife during school hours. Your youngest will probably be in Pre-Primary (5 days a week school) next year anyway.

If you are accommodating (living a bit out of the way) and do not mind older car (we have one second hand Toyota) and use public transport, and cut back a bit, you should make it quite easily. Just keep in mind that it is really labour that is expensive (relative to SA), so the more you can do yourself the better.

Very few German cars here and you really don't need BMW / Merc speed, fines are way to high!

We had more work opportunities in the east available but decided on the better family lifestyle (in our view) in the far west.

Hi Gerhark. we would in fact looove to live away from the city. we had too much of it here in Johannesburg and really want to live somewhere where we can relax in a safe, private environment. We are outdoor people so we are looking to go somewhere close to parks or even the beach. I don't mind driving an older car (Although I am a certified petrolhead) as long as it's big enough for the family, reliable and not a total rustbucket. I'd much rather sit in traffic 1hr every morning than live in the city. It would drive me crazy to live in the centre of a big city. just a question totally off topic: what is internet and TV like there? Here we have satellite TV which is great but expensive (R650 p/m) unfortunately the same cant be said of our internet. It is really expensive and very slow (R650 p/m for a 2mb uncapped ADSL line. Note 2mb is the max you will get and it hardly gets there)

Pietnaude, jy moet nie worry nie ou maat. IELTS is nie so bad. Ek's 'n platelandse boertjie en sonder baie sukkel 8 gekry in alles. As long as you do some of the preparations and tests that you might get online or in the book, take it nice and easy, read and make sure you understand what they want. You have time to plan and work out your writing and talking part... Don't just jump in and do it. Dan sal jy bakgat wees.

This is my opinion regarding your questions above:

South Africans in general tend to judge too quickly and complain about everything. I've spoken to a lot of people who don't like television in Aussie and complaint about it, I found nothing wrong.. But I've only been there a couple of times for short periods. I think it depends on what you watch - I love my sport and documentaries - plenty of that there. You have your "free to air", "pay per view" and Foxtel that I know of, but I'm not sure what they all cost. Foxtel in a lot of ways similar to DSTV. But the "free to air" channels are much better quality and content than SABC here.

The internet has got it's ups and downs, but in general much better than here (same content Hahaha but better speed). They are also now rolling out the National Broadband which I'm sure will make it even better still.

And as for the rest - You'll be okay mate. Life is a much better quality than what we are used to. I can't wait to make Aussie my home. "You can do it.."

Edited by Neels

Pietnaude, we have internet with Telstra $90pm 200gb also includes a landline number / connection. We just watch open (free) channels (like SABC) and wonderful kids channel included which you can record with off-the-shelf entertainment unit or Telstra T-Box ($15pm extra). With T-box you can get movies on demand, watch You-tube etc. I do not know where people find the time to fit in Foxtel. After work and weekends we are mostly outside or go away. Also you can rent relative new DVD / Blue Ray on Thursday for a week for $1 each so the Foxtel agent has yet to convince me that it is worth the money - unless you spend a lot of time watching sport on TV then Foxtel makes sense - I guess.

We live 35km north of the city and the public transport is awesome, no need to sit in the traffic, you just get on the bus and take the train so about 50min later (reading a book or just chilling) you are in the centre of Perth. It is affordable enough to live close to the beach - if you go this far north - and lots of parks and places to go over a weekend.

We have 2002 Toyota Landcruiser 4.5petrol, it is the same one as in SA. These days you can pick them up for $15k and it is great for camping / driving on the beach. Petrol about $1.40 per litre depends what day of the week you fill up.

The lifestyle you are dreaming of, you can certainly have here with the safety. We used to live in Centurion and an outing over the weekend was going to the Mall or a restaurant where the kids can play - with hindsight, what a waste of time!

Hahaaa @ gerhardK,

We also did the "malling" thing in SA. Westgate baby! Now, we hit the beach or bush or parks and the quality of life is through the roof!

SurferMan we were the Menlyn, Centurion, Woodhill and Irene (and surrounds) specialists! Now if wife want to go to Joondalup or Ocean Keys mall I volunteer to entertain the kids at home - I am allergic to malls! And with the convenience of online shopping we can avoid most outings all-together.

We used to live in Centurion and an outing over the weekend was going to the Mall or a restaurant where the kids can play - with hindsight, what a waste of time!

I can relate we were in the Fourways area and weekends were spent exploring the malls. How pathetic and as you said a waste of time.

In terms of costs I found that insurance in Australia is so much cheaper. Car, household and medical is incredibly high in ZA compared to here.

Sorry, I haven't read all the replies but will add my 2c! I think location plays a big part in the cost of living. We are in a country town 2hrs south of perth. We have a great government school in our area which is free and it's really good. Housing is cheaper than perth but more expensive than SA although I find the payments easier to come by than our SA equivalent. I definitely get more for our dollar than I ever got for our rand. We recently had a health scare with my son and he spent 8 weeks being really sick and hospitalised twice. He had a paediatric and surgical team oversee his case and his care was better than any private care we ever received in Sa. It was absolutely free. Hospital nursing and facility was top of the range. We have very affordable private health care which they didn't even ask for at the hospital - that is more for non emergency treatment should you want to choose your care or hurry it along. If you try and convert dollar prices you'll drop. I have never had money left over at the end of the month in SA but we have consistently been able to build up a reserve, travelled back to SA (family of 5), bought a house, bought a dog (they don't come cheap!) etc etc! My kids play every sport under the sun and, for example, I paid $60 for the season for my son to play rugby. We will be stretched on $85000, comfortable on $100 000 and styling on $120 000 - I am definitely more financially "less stressed" than I was I SA. Hope that helps?